Old 08-23-2013, 07:25 PM   #1

Speaking of Coachmen Freelander 28QB mods.

Hi All,

Being a retired Manufacturing Engineer, I just can't leave things as they were designed. I've just GOT to modify... You should see my Classic Cars.

We bought our 2014 Chevy 4500 chassis 28QB back in May and I thought I'd share a couple of things that I have changed.

1) Before we even took the RV out, I removed the INNER portion of the skylight over the shower and painted it black. The paint is situated between the inner skylight and the outer skylight. Now, even if we get stuck parking under a bright light in an RV park, our bedroom is DARK!

2) I re-routed the under-the-bed drain valve for the water tank from being under the bed to a petcock on the outside of the RV. The new outside valve is located on the lower skirt, aft of the rear wheel. Now I can easily drain the water tank before refilling it.

3) I removed the mirror over the bathroom sink. The original mirror was about 2/3 of the width of the wall, but was NOT centered on the wall. The new ($50) mirror goes from sidewall to sidewall over the sink and counter.

4) I moved the mirror that was removed from the bathroom and installed it on the wall between the corner shower and the window. Now, I can get myself ready to go while Sherry is using the mirror in the bathroom.

5) I bought a small, round, spring loaded, laundry chute door and installed it on the front of the cabinet on the wider side of the bed. Now, we just pop the dirty laundry through the door and it falls into a laundry basket in the "basement". We also store all of the laundry supplies (soap, dryer sheets, etc.) IN one end of the basket so when we need to go to the laundromat, we just grab the basket and were off.