Old 10-10-2013, 11:33 PM   #1

Aviator Owners

Haven't heard much lately from Aviator owners. HOT topic for awhile then nada. Some know now the Aviator style travel trailer we own are now discontinued. It's my hopes that we won't be forgotten as these were pretty pricey trailers and owners deserve continued support from Forest River. As I understand it? about 73 were built by a small group of people that were dedicated in building the Aviator Electra, and the Wright Flyer. The owners of these unts will either be blessed with a high quality trailer that will last as advertised or, cursed with an orphan with no factory support and a resale value far less than expected. In other words, a collector, or a failure that folks will run from like other composite trailer's like the Earthbound, and others that have failed.

So far, mine has been okay I guess, I'm new to the trailer aspect of life on the road so dont have anything else to compare to. I've owned plenty of motor homes over the years and after my last coach a Blue Bird Wanderlodge went up in flames due to a refrigerator fire I decided not to go back into a motor coach. Time will tell if this was worth it or not. So far I've been able to repair all defects myself....a lot simpler than my previous bus...thats for sure.

Slim

Old 10-11-2013, 10:25 AM   #2

FR will support the Aviator right up till the warranty expires on the last of the 70 original units. As it is now any Aviator specific parts, like cabinets, fabrics, carpet exterior parts, etc have to made as a warranty or request for said part is made. They do not stock parts for them. So my guess is that in a couple of years time we will own orphans. As far as resale, you can buy a brand new Wright Flyer with every option including 2nd A/c for less than 54,000 from the same dealer that I bought mine from for 67,000 back in May. I tried to trade it and, well lets just say I will have it a long, long time.

Old 10-11-2013, 12:39 PM   #3

Bob,