Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-30-2016, 02:32 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Edmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 126
AC Unit 2016 FR3

I see all the posts on the relatively poor AC units on the fr3.
Picking up a 2016, was anything corrected, does the fr3 really need a 2nd AC unit and is the vehicle AC that poor.
My current 2010 class C AC works great.
Hmmmm maybe a deal breaker.
Please post comments
Thanks
__________________

__________________
Edmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2016, 02:22 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 11
I had to have my AC replaced on my 2016 FR3 as it was not cooling. My dealer took care of it without any problems though both of us had to take the makers to task.

I've not used it yet due to the weather but previous 5 Class A motorhomes needed only 1 AC to keep it very comfortable. Expecting the same with this one.
__________________

__________________
Richard Tribble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2016, 02:39 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
StephanFR3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 483
They have put progressively bigger A/C's on the FR3 the 2014 came with one Dometic 13500 btu, The next year with Dometic 15000 btu. Now the have a Atwell 18000 btu equivalent. Some people get a separate wired A/C for the rear vent. The 32 foot comes with 2 A/C's but it is also 50 amp. with a bigger genny. look through the old posts. Its been addressed before. You can also tint windows and use reflective auto shades. it helps a lot and is a lot cheaper.
__________________
StephanFR3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2016, 10:39 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 497
JMO, but it NEEDS 2 ACs. But it depends how cold you like it I guess. Our expectations is to keep it between 70-75F inside. But if its above 90F outside, it'll hover around 80F+ inside. We've tried the vent pillows and bubble insulation and that helps, but for $700 or so for an extra AC unit, we'll be installing one this spring. We'll just run an extension cord down to the power bay and everything will be good. You might see if you can't get the dealer to install a second one before you pick it up for a little extra money on top of your sales price.
__________________
KansasFR3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2016, 01:12 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
StephanFR3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 483
Just remember that the 4000w generator can't handle the start up of both A/C ' s at the same time.
__________________
StephanFR3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2016, 02:04 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by StephanFR3 View Post
Just remember that the 4000w generator can't handle the start up of both A/C ' s at the same time.
Yeah, we know that. We may get a separate generator to run only that AC if we need to. But having two AC when we have hookups is about 80% of our needs. Even thought about swapping in a 5500 gen, but don't think its worth it. Best just to buy the Yamaha 2400 gen or the like and mount it somewhere on the LH side by gen/hydraulic jack pump...For now, we just want one installed so we can hook it up to a pedestal.
__________________
KansasFR3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2016, 03:04 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
StephanFR3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 483
Cool
__________________
StephanFR3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2016, 11:09 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Edmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 126
I really hope that the 18,000 btu is enough, my current class c 14,000 btu unit is ice cold in the hot weather. Don't want to buy this fr3 and have to throw thousands of dollars into it
__________________
Edmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 12:52 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
b1barnes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Spirit Lake, ID
Posts: 162
Fr3 is very poorly insulated, thus AC does not work well in hot weather. The insulation factor is the key why some other units and TTs cool with smaller units.

Last summer in STL at 95 the FR could almost get to 85.

We installed two Atwoods and changed the Gen to 5500. Tinted the windows.
__________________
b1barnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 10:29 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 70
I had FR swap out my Dometic for the Atwood and seal the front and rear ceiling caps. It's slightly better, but don't expect comfort in direct sun and 90+ temps outside. It just can't keep up.

I had a 30' Cougar TT prior to this and the 15K AC kept that thing like an ice box inside, even in 100 degree weather. I do think the insulation sucks on the FR3, but not sure how to improve it.


2015 FR3 30DS

Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
MaltnHops is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 PM.