Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-10-2015, 07:58 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
JerseyGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 122
Just finished wiring mine. I used the existing a/c duct (actually a gap in the ceiling running from the front unit all the way to the rear wall. I removed the panel that runs along the rear wall and ran the wire into the rear closet. I then ran the wire down the closet into the electrical bay. Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1426035496.325663.jpg
Views:	111
Size:	124.7 KB
ID:	71131Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1426035509.841629.jpg
Views:	130
Size:	108.2 KB
ID:	71132


2014 FR3 30DS In New Jersey
__________________

JerseyGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2015, 05:14 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
JerseyGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 122
Do you have the model number for the breaker box? I'm using a fused A/C box but I like yours better.


2014 FR3 30DS In New Jersey
__________________

JerseyGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2015, 07:55 AM   #23
PDG
Member
 
PDG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 34
2nd AC unit breaker box

JerseyGuy,

I liked the way you did your wiring, nice job!

The breaker box is a basic Square D 2 circuit slots. Home depot Square D Model # HOM24L70SCP Internet # 100202333 Store SKU # 565539
$14.34

The 20 AMP breaker is separate and located right next to the breaker box area.

Also, check this dog bone RV 50A Male to (2) 30A Female Lighted "Y" Adapter by ECS electric cordsets. I called them, very knowledgeable and helpful.

URL is:

RV 50A Male to (2) 30A Female Lighted "Y" Adapter


This adapter allows you to be at an older RV park that only has a 50 AMP outlet on the pedestal and no other outlets available. (Had several like that on my trip out west last year).

It splits the 50 AMP service so we can individually power the coach and the 2nd AC from one 50 AMP outlet. Very cool.

Let us know how this project continues.

GLTA
__________________
Peter & Linda
2014 FR3 30DS - Fiat 500
PDG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2015, 03:48 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
JerseyGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 122
I will order the adapter. I've finished the wiring but the actual unit will not be installed until May when we get to Phoenix.

I've arranged to have the unit dropped in at a dealer in AZ.

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1426193251.828925.jpg
Views:	104
Size:	299.0 KB
ID:	71215Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1426193268.943644.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	280.2 KB
ID:	71216


2014 FR3 30DS In New Jersey
JerseyGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 03:07 PM   #25
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 2
I also have a 2014 FR3 30DS and am planning on doing the same thing. Did the installation go as planned? If you don't mind could you tell me how you ran the wiring and briefly summarize what you did?


thanks much!
LCraddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 02:08 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Broward County
Posts: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by LCraddock View Post
I also have a 2014 FR3 30DS and am planning on doing the same thing. Did the installation go as planned? If you don't mind could you tell me how you ran the wiring and briefly summarize what you did?


thanks much!
I added a 2nd A/C to our 2015 28DS. Snaked the wire though the 'duct' (really just a channel cutout in the styrofoam) and down to the electric bay through a closet. The second A/C is wired on it's own separate 15AMP outlet. So when at home or camping, I run the bus (with original A/C) on 30AMP, and the second A/C completely separate on 15AMP. Note that while driving/boondocking I CANNOT run that second A/C...

While snaking the proper wire through the duct, please make sure you don't expose wire by 'scraping' the screws from the vents, they're very sharp...
DutchRv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 08:32 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 195
What gage wire you using to get down to the 20 amp breaker? From there you run a std plug to the 20 amp pedestal from the breaker box?
Combatcoal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2018, 07:48 AM   #28
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Broward County
Posts: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by Combatcoal View Post
What gage wire you using to get down to the 20 amp breaker? From there you run a std plug to the 20 amp pedestal from the breaker box?
I used yellow romex 12/3. And since I wanted this A/C to be on a separate 20amp service, I didn't use the RV breaker box panel. Just it's own receptacle so I can power the 2nd AC. I did add a 15amp inline fuse that will before before the (20amp) breaker at the pedestal trips, for added protection.
DutchRv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2018, 08:35 AM   #29
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 195
Awesome stuff Dutch, thx, I believe you also shared pics too, thx for that also
__________________

Combatcoal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air conditioner

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31 PM.