Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-23-2017, 02:44 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 23
Converter

Last night the check light came on on our Dometic Refrigerator. We took out the manual and followed the directions. Light would not go off and we could hear it trying to ignite. Then the lights started to dim. Checked the shore power to make sure it was tight. Good there. Then the furnace would not come on. Checked the fuses and GFI- both good. Now starting to get worried.
Went outside to check the Power Converter. BINGO!!! Somehow it got unplugged - probably when we were getting our lawn chairs out we hit it. Next time we will check that first!! We learn something new every time we take a trip and that is a good thing. Hope this helps others. Have a GREAT day - we are now that every thing is working except our big slider, (which I posted a couple of days ago.)
__________________

Joni Tonkovich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2017, 02:48 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10,161
You don't say year, manufacturer, model you have. UPDATE: I see you have an FR3; but year and model might help others.

I thought most (all) converters were hard-wired, not plug-ins. Surprised your is a plug-in. Especially in a location where you could hit it with something.
__________________

__________________
1988 Coleman Sequoia - popup (1987-2009) - outlasted 3 Dodge Grand Caravans!
2012 Roo19 - hybrid (2012-2015)

2016 Mini Lite 2503S - tt (2015 - ???)
2011 Traverse LT, 3.6L, FWD
2009 Silverado 1500 Ext Cab, 5.3L, 4x4, 3.73
2016 Silverado 2500HD Dbl Cab, 6.0L 4x4, 4.10
rockfordroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2017, 03:18 PM   #3
from Cali
 
RV Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 99
I think most if not all the FR3's are like that (I haven't seen the newest ones). It's a common situation on this section of the form.
__________________
______________________
2015 FR3 30DS
2014 Jeep Rubicon X
Central Coast of California
RV Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2017, 03:31 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: West Carrollton, Ohio
Posts: 704
My surge guard shut down power and then went to the 128 second countdown and power was back up. Something tripped it. Better safe than sorry.
OKI Marine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 02:38 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
jjtonks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Hayden, Idaho
Posts: 1
Converter

Our Motor home is a 2015 FR3 - 30 foot. The converter is not hard wired.
jjtonks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 02:40 PM   #6
Who Dares, Wins
 
doc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 6,573
Sunseekers is plugged in as well.
__________________

Pat, Jen, Heather & Sapphire, the head mouser.
2015 ChevyHD D-Max
2018 Artic Wolf 315tbh8
doc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 03:14 PM   #7
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 18,999
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockfordroo View Post
I thought most (all) converters were hard-wired, not plug-ins. Surprised your is a plug-in. Especially in a location where you could hit it with something.
I'd bet most converters are plugged in and you just don't realize it. My converter is plugged in behind my distribution panel. I've replaced it twice now (one failure and one upgrade) and really appreciate that it's plugged in.

I am surprised it's somewhere that it could be hit with something, though.
__________________
2018 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling a 2017 Spartan 1245 by Prime Time
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 09:52 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10,161
Quote:
Originally Posted by ependydad View Post
I'd bet most converters are plugged in and you just don't realize it. My converter is plugged in behind my distribution panel. I've replaced it twice now (one failure and one upgrade) and really appreciate that it's plugged in.

I am surprised it's somewhere that it could be hit with something, though.
Well, I'm used to the ones that are installed under the breaker/fuse panel like this one, as it's basically wired directly to one of the breakers:


Here's another one:


It would appear that if your converter is located somewhere away from your breakers, it will be a plug-in type, like this one:
__________________
1988 Coleman Sequoia - popup (1987-2009) - outlasted 3 Dodge Grand Caravans!
2012 Roo19 - hybrid (2012-2015)

2016 Mini Lite 2503S - tt (2015 - ???)
2011 Traverse LT, 3.6L, FWD
2009 Silverado 1500 Ext Cab, 5.3L, 4x4, 3.73
2016 Silverado 2500HD Dbl Cab, 6.0L 4x4, 4.10
rockfordroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2017, 02:22 AM   #9
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 18,999
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockfordroo View Post
Well, I'm used to the ones that are installed under the breaker/fuse panel like this one, as it's basically wired directly to one of the breakers...
Interesting. I guess I take back what I said. I thought more would be plugged in with the 15-amp plug like they showed for the PD converter that was being installed in the first video.

Thanks for the video links.
__________________

__________________
2018 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling a 2017 Spartan 1245 by Prime Time
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
converter

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 AM.