Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-2015, 12:34 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Southern California
Posts: 76
Flexible Solar Panel install

I am wondering if anyone has installed flexible solar panels on the roof of their FR3. If so did you attach with screws or adhesive. I'm not sure if an adhesive is recommended or will work on alpha or rubber roofs.
__________________

__________________
jimcarterhb1951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2015, 08:00 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Technorick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 336
Flexible Solar Panel install

This spring I installed 2 100 watt panels on my 2014 FR3 using stainless screws surrounded by Dicor self leveling sealant. Then sealed around the edges with Dicor too. Posted elsewhere in this forum. Panels connect to a 1000 W go power pure sine inverter.

These are Go Power flex panels that came with the Charger regulator and the water tight wire harness. I drove 6000 miles this summer with no problems. Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1449449801.946186.jpg
Views:	127
Size:	64.2 KB
ID:	95691

No matter what panel you buy, ground test them before you install them! I got a bad unit from the factory and was happy to discover it in advance. The flex panel vendors advise pre testing before install because they know once adhered to vinyl they will damage the roof if you try to remove them.

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1449449828.467821.jpg
Views:	131
Size:	80.1 KB
ID:	95692


Name:   ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1449449946.929923.jpg
Views: 260
Size:  116.9 KB


2014 FR330 DS
__________________

__________________
Technorick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2015, 08:49 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Southern California
Posts: 76
Thanks Technorick. I am installing five Go Power 100 watt panels, w/controller, 3000 watt pure sine wave inverter, inverter remote control panel, and transfer switch. Your install info and solar panel tips are appreciated. Sounds like the mounting of flex or hard panels will require about the same amount of holes in the roof.
__________________
jimcarterhb1951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2015, 09:19 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Blackhat6mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: St Simons Island, GA
Posts: 1,204
Don't know if you have already installed them as yet, but something to give thought about is if you need to remove or replace a panel, how much damage to the roof will be done? Also, with the hard panels, you can hide the wiring under each panel. If the panels are close together, no wiring is exposed. It just runs from one panel to the other underneath.
__________________
Aviator Wright Flyer #1919
Army Pathfinder Vietnam, 3 tours
DAV, MOPH, VFW, NRA, 1stCav. ABN
Blackhat6mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2015, 12:53 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 5
If you had to replace a panel couldn't you just glue it down on top of the old panel, instead of destroying the roof?
__________________
akula1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2015, 01:59 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Southern California
Posts: 76
I just spoke to Go Power, and they said you can glue a new flexible panel over an old non functional panel, without any problem.
__________________

__________________
jimcarterhb1951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
solar, solar panel

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 AM.