Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-28-2016, 09:26 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 1
FR3 12v connection

We just bought a refrigerator for the underbody/basement of our FR3. The frig is AC/DC. Does anyone know if and where a 12v connection is in the underbody/basement? We know where the 110v is but can't find a 12V to be able to keep the frig running while travelling. Any help would be appreciated.
Gerry
__________________

__________________
xzyy2q11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2016, 10:33 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 407
Depending on where you install it, but I'd think the best place is right by the battery bay. I'd just run a line from the house batteries disconnect relay. This way if you disconnect the house batteries using the switch by the door, the fridge will go offline during storage. Just make sure the storage bay can handle the weight of the fridge/contents. I'd for sure put down a plywood sub-floor vs sitting directly on the rotomold plastic.
__________________

__________________
KansasFR3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2016, 07:17 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
fpo1123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Maurertown VA
Posts: 153
Tap into a light in the bay they are 12v constant.
__________________

MSG (Ret)
U.S. Army
Active-duty 66-92
2015 FR3 30DS
fpo1123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2016, 07:00 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Technorick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 307
Speaking of weight cap on the poly bins? Anybody know if there is a published recommended weight per bin?

That bin behind my battery bin is my tool bin and holds sockets, wrenches, breakers bar torque wrench, an assortment of deep dish metric and us large sockets, Ryobi charger, Ryobi impact and screwdrivers, Allen wrenches and a chrome shelf!

FYI. I recently did a total rig weight in at the land fill with full gas and full water, clothes camp stove chairs, hoses and peer cords. And hit 17,100. Lbs!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1469923190.754812.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	51.2 KB
ID:	115855  
__________________
Technorick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2016, 11:24 AM   #5
Member
 
PeteAndEd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by KansasFR3 View Post
Depending on where you install it, but I'd think the best place is right by the battery bay. I'd just run a line from the house batteries disconnect relay. This way if you disconnect the house batteries using the switch by the door, the fridge will go offline during storage. Just make sure the storage bay can handle the weight of the fridge/contents. I'd for sure put down a plywood sub-floor vs sitting directly on the rotomold plastic.
If you do a direct connect to the batteries, you should consider putting in an inline fuse on the positive line with the appropriate amp fuse.
__________________
FR3 2015 30DS
PeteAndEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 AM.