Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-06-2015, 08:04 AM   #51
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Western New York
Posts: 1,226
Yes it takes 12 volts to the thermostat to operate the AC unit.
__________________

__________________
2014 Coachmen Pursuit 31BDP
2016 Ford C-Max Energi
1987 Chrysler LeBaron Convertible
FROG Member
FMCA Member #F438633 - Good Sam Life Member
Coachmens Owners Group Member
ResQfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2015, 10:12 AM   #52
PDG
Member
 
PDG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 34
Wayne and Sherry,

Last year we experienced the southwest in July and August and just like you were miserable and unhappy how poorly our 13.5 BTU AC performed. We installed a 15k AC unit in the main cabin moved the 13.5 AC to the bedroom. Closing doors to separate the main cabin from the bath/bedroom will help you keep the main cabin cooler. We also used a fan on the floor to blow the cold air around. But in the heat of the day the single standard AC unit can't cool the coach. Sucks but reality.
__________________

__________________
Peter & Linda
2014 FR3 30DS - Fiat 500
PDG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2015, 10:34 AM   #53
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 70
It is well known that the FR3 has a horribly underpowered AC system. Do you have the Dometic or the Atwood? I worked with Travis Bird at FR and he replaced my Dometic with the Atwood. The Atwood is quieter, but doesn't blow as hard as the Dometic. I complained again to Travis, who then had the dealer seal off the front and rear roof caps (the AC blows into the roof, past the last vent towards the front and rear and the cold air just sits in there...very poorly engineered! Anyway, this next weekend is the first time I'll be able to test it out since they've done this. Going to be in 90 degree weather. I'm not optimistic, but I'll let you guys know how it goes.

The good things about the Atwood is that it's very quiet, even on high fan, and the heat pump is nice. If you're plugged into shore power you don't have to burn propane to keep warm.


2015 FR3 30DS

Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
MaltnHops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2015, 06:22 PM   #54
Senior Member
 
Online_17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 120
No new AC but hope to have a lot less heat by tinting all the windows.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1433629342052.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	35.3 KB
ID:	79227  
__________________
Online_17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2015, 06:48 PM   #55
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
That is the key to keeping the coach cool. A windshield cover and driver side will do even more.
__________________
Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2015, 09:57 PM   #56
Senior Member
 
wayne and sherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 580
We have the Atwood. I'm going to call Travis Bird and ask him for a few minutes of his time to go over some concerns and see what he has to say! I know he is a great guy!!


JeNNY (2015 FR3 / 30DS)
2000 Jeep TJ Moab Rock Crawler
2013 Jeep JK
USS Seattle (AOE-3) 84-88 Wayne
US Army 06-15 Sherry
__________________
wayne and sherry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2015, 11:46 PM   #57
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 70
Travis has been amazing to work with. He has never told me "no." Make sure to have your front and rear caps sealed and see how it goes.


2015 FR3 30DS

Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
MaltnHops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2015, 11:59 PM   #58
Junior Member
 
jbudelli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 12
I need air help. 2015 FR3 28DS
Since you all are air experts maybe you can help. Is the air unit supposed to work while you drive ? I can't get mine working.
I took my family to Lake Tahoe today, had to go they Sacramento at 113 degrees, the air unit upfront was really of little help but worse no air in the rest of the coach made for a very rough ride.
__________________
jbudelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2015, 12:32 AM   #59
Senior Member
 
b1barnes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Spirit Lake, ID
Posts: 162
It will if you run the generator and have the 30 amp plug connected to the outlet in the big storage bay. The roof top AC needs 120vac to run..
__________________
b1barnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2015, 12:43 AM   #60
Junior Member
 
jbudelli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 12
I was told by the dealer when I bought the RV to Not run when propane is open and not with generator on. But I see other posts that say propane in to keep refrigerator cool and generators in for A/C. So this is ok to do so?
__________________

__________________
jbudelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air conditioner

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 AM.