Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-30-2018, 11:24 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Edmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 167
Gas Water Heater Ques

Went out this past weekend and I used the propane water heater while I had my shoreline plugged in. The water came out hot for a while then when we tried to use it hours later the water came out cold even after running it for a while.

I switched to electric and no issues. The stove worked perfectly and I have a full tank of propane.

Anyone have this issue or may know if Iím doing something wrong.


Thanks
__________________

Edmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2018, 06:36 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
SeaDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Idaho
Posts: 5,848
did you actually check and see if the propane side of your water heater was starting? there may be something blocking the burner tube like a spider web. check the fuse for the water heater and ensure your batteries are at full charge.
__________________

__________________
Retired Navy
Jake my sidekick (yellow Lab)
2017 RAM 2500 CC 4X4 Cummins Diesel
2016 Flagstaff 26 FKWS
AF&AM & El Korah Shrine of Idaho
SeaDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2018, 06:53 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
jeff64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: N. Illinois
Posts: 1,405
My 1st question would be... once you turn it on do you hear or see it sparking? if newer Suburban did the DSI light come on when you flip the switch on gas?
__________________
2016 Flagstaff 27VRL Emerald
14K Equalizer
2014 GMC 2500HD CC 4X4 6.0L
jeff64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2018, 10:26 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Edmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 167
I have the light on the panel that lets me know itís activated
Edmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2018, 10:31 AM   #5
Site Team
 
Kaadk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edmo View Post
I have the light on the panel that lets me know itís activated
Need to take a close look at the panel to see what that light actually is. I've seen some that indicate it's on, I've seen a lot more that have a 'fault' indicator, that only lights if the WH fails.
__________________
There's no use crying over spilt milk... unless it's on your keyboard.
Kaadk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2018, 10:33 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 2,421
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaadk View Post
Need to take a close look at the panel to see what that light actually is. I've seen some that indicate it's on, I've seen a lot more that have a 'fault' indicator, that only lights if the WH fails.
agree, on mine the light only comes on if it FAILS to LIGHT!
__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2018, 02:10 PM   #7
Member
 
RudysWorld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Collierville, TN
Posts: 542
I would check if a mud dauber had a nest in the chamber, they seem to love gas.
__________________

Rudy - 10 year old long haired dachshund, RIP
2011 Georgetown 350TS
2013 Chevrolet Equinox toad
RudysWorld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2018, 02:21 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,794
Simple troubleshooting guide for propane WH

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edmo View Post
Went out this past weekend and I used the propane water heater while I had my shoreline plugged in. The water came out hot for a while then when we tried to use it hours later the water came out cold even after running it for a while.

I switched to electric and no issues. The stove worked perfectly and I have a full tank of propane.

Anyone have this issue or may know if Iím doing something wrong.


Thanks
Go outside and listen while someone else turns the WH propane switch on.
--There should be a pause
--Then gas flows--you should hear the valve open
--Then the igniter sparks (click, click...click)--then either the gas lights (you hear a "whump" sound), or it times out (maybe 7-10 seconds)

If you don't hear the gas flow or valve open, check 12 volt fuses. The WH needs 12 volts for control circuitry.

If you don't hear the igniter clicks, check 12 volt fuses or you may need to reset the propane side overtemp sensor. For a Suburban it's under one of the rubber bubbles on the end of the tank. Try this first. See instructions at https://www.rv.net/forum/index.cfm/f...print/true.cfm . Or you may have a control board failure or a failed thermostat for the gas side (different than the thermostat for the electric side)

If you hear the clicks but not the "whump" the gas is not igniting, so the system shuts down. It won't try again until you turn it off and on again. Possible causes for this are:
--Air in the gas line (you said the range works, so that's not it)
--Spider webs or other junk in the air passage. You can remove the air duct by loosening two bolts using a 7/16" wrench.
--Gas valve not opening--could be valve or control board.

Larry
Larry-NC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2018, 04:21 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
SailorSam20500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 2,661
If it ends up being the infamous mud daubers, you may be tempted to put the commonly available mud dauber screens on the air intake. FWIW, doing so will technically void your warranty. (Learned this at a seminar given by FR's Brian.)
The issue is a safety concern. Spider webs, cotton wood tree seeds, and other stuff can build up on the screens restricting air flow. That may lead to CO issues or other problems.
So - if you use them, keep them clean. If you have a warranty issue, take them off BEFORE you take pictures or drop the rig off somewhere for repair.
Same thing goes for screens over the air intake for your furnace. For whatever reason, there is no concern about propane fridges.
__________________
Al
Save the Earth. Itís the only known planet with Beer.
S.E. Mich.
Flagstaff 26FKWS / 2019 F-150 3.5 EcoBoost SCrew
SailorSam20500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2018, 04:26 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,794
Not sure I understand...

Quote:
Originally Posted by SailorSam20500 View Post
The issue is a safety concern. Spider webs, cotton wood tree seeds, and other stuff can build up on the screens restricting air flow. That may lead to CO issues or other problems.
I'm not sure I understand the carbon monoxide concern.

Both the intake and exhaust are outside the camper. If combustion is incomplete and CO is produced, it will be dispersed into the atmosphere. The water heater housing is a big steel box. How would CO get into the closed living quarters?

Larry
__________________

Larry-NC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gas, heater, water, water heater

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 PM.