Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2016, 12:48 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 49
Generator performance

I am trying to figure out what works and what doesn't when using the generator. I have the 4.0 Onan in a 2016 FR3. On the way south last night got 20 degree temperatures. We had packed a small heater and electric blanket, both of which work with no problem when using shore power. They even worked when on a 20 amp adaptor. I tried using one at time with no other house draw and had same results. When turned on [ heater or blanket] would initialize then shut down. Is this because of a peak load before the gen has time to ramp up the output ? Any thoughts or experiences?
__________________

__________________
Grumpy Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2016, 01:44 PM   #2
edm
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Oregon
Posts: 74
Generator

We have 2016 30ds and have no problems with generator handling the loads in the rv. One thing i did is install a 30 amp transfer switch in our coach so the generator has time to come up to speed before the load is applied. if you aren't using a transfer switch i would leave all heavy loads off until generator has run for about 15 sec. hope this helps.
__________________

__________________
edm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2016, 01:46 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 49
It happened after about minutes of operation
__________________
Grumpy Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2016, 01:46 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 49
It happens after 5 minutes of operation
__________________
Grumpy Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2016, 01:53 PM   #5
edm
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Oregon
Posts: 74
generator

Generator should be a peak rpm after a few seconds of operation. Is it tripping any circuit bakers ? The Generator should handle 30 amp load. Will it run your AC?
__________________
edm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2016, 02:04 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 497
There is something up for sure with the Gen/wiring. One thing to note is that ALL the outlets are on a single 15 amp breaker. So if you have a 1500 watt heater, there is practically no more room for anything else. When temps are above freezing, I'll run one 1500 watt heater using the microwave circuit, then another one using the passenger side outlet. Helps lower our propane usage when hooked up.

I believe the Onan Gen has a 3 year warranty, but I think your issues is with how FR installed it. Ditto edm's question, is it tripping any circuit breakers? What do you mean by "shut down"? If no breaker is tripped, is your microwave still on? That usually tells me if the generator is putting out 120V or not.
__________________
KansasFR3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2016, 02:16 PM   #7
edm
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Oregon
Posts: 74
One other thing. When we first got our FR3 we were on a trip in 105 degree weather and running our generator for the ac. The generator kept running but had no output voltage. It took a while to find the problem and it turned out to be a loose neutral wire. The location of the problem was the wire junction next to the generator the wire nut was fried. Replaced the wire nut and all is well.
This junction box is in the cabinet in front of the generator cabinet. if you are going to check it there don't have the generator running while you are working in there.
__________________
edm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2016, 02:49 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by edm View Post
if you are going to check it there don't have the generator running while you are working in there.


Oh come on, its just 110v.
__________________
KansasFR3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2016, 02:53 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 49
The breaker doesn't trip. The heater which is 1500 watt will turn on light up hi on the panel and then go out. The blanket goes on lights up mode level and then goes to periods and dots. It is a shut down on " wake up " of the unit. Both are working properly today on shore power.
__________________
Grumpy Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2016, 02:59 PM   #10
edm
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Oregon
Posts: 74
If you have a way to monitor the output voltage of the generator I would do so. It should be about 120 volts at any outlet in the coach. Monitor it without load and then with load the results should be the same
__________________

__________________
edm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 AM.