Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2016, 08:15 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 11
GFI Locations

How many and locations of the GFI outlets on 2016 FR3 32 DS?
__________________

jumpstart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2016, 09:23 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
WolfWhistle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,275
Quote:
Originally Posted by jumpstart View Post
How many and locations of the GFI outlets on 2016 FR3 32 DS?
I give, how many? I can tell you in my 29HFS there are 9 120 volt receptacles ... but only one GFCI in the bathroom. From the load center it is wired to that bathroom receptacle then to all other 120 volt receptacles. All those are labeled "GFCI protected" but are standard receptacles.
WW
__________________

__________________
Hyper Lite was sold

2017 F-250 4x4 6.2L Gas
I can't fix everything, but I can make it so nobody else can
WolfWhistle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2016, 08:22 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 11
Yes that's all I found, just wondering. My main issue is the three ceiling lights in the front cabin are not working. Checked the switch which is on the under side of the cabinet as you walk through the door and it's good. Tested the two incoming wire to the switch, NO Power. Just thinking it might be tied to a GFI.
jumpstart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2016, 08:26 PM   #4
Member
 
miniceptor86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 83
Do the individual lights have switches on the side of the base? Mine do.
__________________
Cheers, Jim and Sandy
'14 F150 FX4, '15 Coachmen FE29SE
miniceptor86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2016, 08:29 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 11
Yes and the switches are in the On (I) position.
jumpstart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2016, 08:34 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 11
All other lights are working as well as the plugs outlets. I also check the fuses in the panel near the floor under the bed.
jumpstart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2016, 09:07 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
WolfWhistle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,275
Lights should be on DC. Seen old trailers with 120 vAC lights, but nothing in the modern world... So, DC in my trailer is fused ... Bedroom ... Bath... Living Room... Kitchen... awning... flood... garage... garage bed... pump... fuel pump (toy hauler has fuel tank for toys)... mostly 15 amp (blue) with one 20 and one 30.

I helped a member who only had ceiling lights (LED) when outside light was on. It was wired wrong at the switches near the front door... simple fix... wondering?
WW
__________________
Hyper Lite was sold

2017 F-250 4x4 6.2L Gas
I can't fix everything, but I can make it so nobody else can
WolfWhistle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2016, 09:07 PM   #8
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 12,856
I would have thought your ceiling lights were LEDs and were powered by 12 volts (not related to GFCIs), not 110v.
__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 =111/'19 = 86; booked = 0
Mr. Dan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2016, 09:14 AM   #9
edm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Oregon
Posts: 130
Our 30ds has a switch for all 3 of the cabin lights located above the coat closet as you walk in the door.
Good luck.
edm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2016, 03:37 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 11
Ours has the switch under the cabinet as you walk thru the door on the left. I took out the switch and it checks out good.
jumpstart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2016, 04:34 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Cypressloser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Alberta - East of the Rockies, West of the Rest
Posts: 1,656
Your lights and the GFCI are completely different animals.
The lights should be 12 Volt DC, where the GFCI (Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter) is there to protect from faults in the 120 Volt AC system and is usually located in the bathroom and connected to the other AC outlets mainly in the kitchen area and exterior (can easily be tested by pressing the "Test" button.
The problem with your lights is probably due to a lose connection in the positive or the negative wiring on that particular 12 Volt DC circuit, LEDs in particular are sensitive to incorrect voltage and will not work when the voltage drops below 11 or 11.5 Volt (someone more knowledgeable might want to shime in). Finding the lose connection can be frustrating.
__________________
2018 RAM 5500 Laramie CC
Riverstone Legacy 38RE, 960 Watt Solar, 6x6 Volt AGM Battery Bank, Freedom SW 3012 Inv/Charger
Cypressloser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2016, 04:46 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 11
Could be a needle in a hay stack since there are three light. It is still under warranty so guess I'll take here back into the shop.
jumpstart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2016, 06:17 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
WolfWhistle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,275
I'd take the old VOM and be sure DC is leaving the switch.. verifies good switch.. then see if its getting to any of the lights. my lights have diffuser (glass) that unscrews to remove... then 2 screws attach to ceiling thin paneling. I assume they worked at one time? the common denominator is the switch and DC to it and from it to the first light in the daisey chain.
WW
__________________
Hyper Lite was sold

2017 F-250 4x4 6.2L Gas
I can't fix everything, but I can make it so nobody else can
WolfWhistle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2016, 07:13 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 11
FOUND IT, after being pointed to the 12V system, I took the switch out again, with a meter checked the incoming voltage it showed 12 then moved the wires and lost power. One wire going into the clip was not crimped good enough and loose and came out when I pulled on it. Thanks for everyone ideas, guess that's why it is call a forum get some good info.
jumpstart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2016, 07:25 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Cypressloser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Alberta - East of the Rockies, West of the Rest
Posts: 1,656
Quote:
Originally Posted by jumpstart View Post
FOUND IT, after being pointed to the 12V system, I took the switch out again, with a meter checked the incoming voltage it showed 12 then moved the wires and lost power. One wire going into the clip was not crimped good enough and loose and came out when I pulled on it. Thanks for everyone ideas, guess that's why it is call a forum get some good info.
Good for you, you did find the needle in the haystack
__________________
2018 RAM 5500 Laramie CC
Riverstone Legacy 38RE, 960 Watt Solar, 6x6 Volt AGM Battery Bank, Freedom SW 3012 Inv/Charger
Cypressloser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2016, 08:10 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
WolfWhistle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,275
J, that's good but funny; all the GFCI tips based on initial assumption. Let that be a lesson to us all. Glad you got it fixed.
WW
__________________

__________________
Hyper Lite was sold

2017 F-250 4x4 6.2L Gas
I can't fix everything, but I can make it so nobody else can
WolfWhistle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cat, location

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 PM.


×