Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2017, 11:20 AM   #1
Member
 
tpatino14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 43
Gfi wonít reset

Hi all, sorry if duplicate but in the middle of nowhere and the gfi in the bathroom of our 2015 FR3 28Ds wonít reset so we have no power to the plugs / AC, etc.. Iíve checked the plug to the converter and it was out maybe an 1/8Ē last night pushed it in and it allowed to reset. Last night everything ran but this morning it tripped again. Any thoughts oh how to reset it or bypass it to get everything working? Itís either going to be a long weekend in the desert or a short trip as we are going to pack up and leave early.
Thanks for your help in advance!

-tpatino14
__________________

tpatino14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2017, 11:31 AM   #2
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 12,298
The AC is not connected to/controlled by the GFCI master outlet. It runs straight from the circuit breaker panel. Also, we need to know what you mean by "the plug to the converter". What are you describing here? That phrase is not familiar to me. Did you turn off and back on the main circuit breaker in the campground power pedestal?
__________________

__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 =111/'19 = 86; booked = 0
Mr. Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2017, 11:40 AM   #3
Member
 
tpatino14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 43
Thanks for your reply Mr. Dan! The plug I’m talking about is the plug that goes from the converter to the 110 plug to power the coach. I haven’t this morning but going to go reset it right now. I did reset everything in the coach.
__________________
2015 Forest River Forrester Class C2250
tpatino14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2017, 11:46 AM   #4
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 12,298
I've been told a GFCI master outlet must have input power to reset. If yours won't reset, it either had no input power OR it's defective. I suspect you don't have power at all.

When you say 'converter', could you mean 'inverter'? A converter transforms 110vAC electricity to 12vDC. An inverter transforms 12vDC (from a battery, for instance) to 110vAC.
__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 =111/'19 = 86; booked = 0
Mr. Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2017, 11:52 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
rracer5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Full Timing It
Posts: 2,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by tpatino14 View Post
Thanks for your reply Mr. Dan! The plug Iím talking about is the plug that goes from the converter to the 110 plug to power the coach. I havenít this morning but going to go reset it right now. I did reset everything in the coach.

As Mr. Dan has stated, still not sure which "plug" you're referring to. But, it sounds like since you got it to reset by "pushing" in the plug, there may be loose ground connection (GFI = Ground Fault). If you're pushing in on the plug at the pedestal, then it may be a loose connection in the campgrounds pedestal and you should call them to come check it.

If you're pushing in on the "plug" where it plugs into the side of your RV, then YOU may have a problem either at the end of the cord or in the receptacle on the side of the RV.

Check your power cord thoroughly including the condition of the prongs on both ends for signs of corrosion and/or arcing (burned spots).
__________________
"PT Crew Members Since 9/2010"
2011 RAM 2500 HD 6.7L CTD Crew
2014 Sanibel 3250
rracer5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2017, 11:55 AM   #6
Member
 
tpatino14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 43
Thank Mr Dan! Yes, it’s looking like NO power to gfci at all. I have reset the main breaker at the camp ground and waiting for the surge guard to reset now.
I really appreciate you responding.
__________________
2015 Forest River Forrester Class C2250
tpatino14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2017, 11:58 AM   #7
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10,211
Also check the circuit breaker in your distribution panel. Occasionally when a GFCI trips it will trip the panel breaker.
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2017, 11:58 AM   #8
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 12,298
Quote:
Originally Posted by tpatino14 View Post
Thank Mr Dan! Yes, itís looking like NO power to gfci at all. I have reset the main breaker at the camp ground and waiting for the surge guard to reset now.
I really appreciate you responding.
You're welcome. Let us know if all this resolves your issue.
__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 =111/'19 = 86; booked = 0
Mr. Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2017, 12:33 PM   #9
Member
 
tpatino14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 43
Thank you Mr Dan and rracer5 for your responses.
I’m not sure what I did but get it to reset (for now). I again played with the plug that goes from the converter /charger to the 110 receptacle in the back of the coach. And attempt to tighten any connection I could find by the back of the coach. Etc. I can only hope it stays for the weekend and I will just have to take it in when we get back. Thank you both and Happy New Years.
__________________
2015 Forest River Forrester Class C2250
tpatino14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 11:48 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
rracer5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Full Timing It
Posts: 2,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by tpatino14 View Post
Thank you Mr Dan and rracer5 for your responses.
Iím not sure what I did but get it to reset (for now). I again played with the plug that goes from the converter /charger to the 110 receptacle in the back of the coach. And attempt to tighten any connection I could find by the back of the coach. Etc. I can only hope it stays for the weekend and I will just have to take it in when we get back. Thank you both and Happy New Years.

This is the phrase that's confusing us. Can you add a pic of the plug/receptacle you're playing with?
__________________
"PT Crew Members Since 9/2010"
2011 RAM 2500 HD 6.7L CTD Crew
2014 Sanibel 3250
rracer5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 12:10 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Posts: 4,208
++we need to get on the same page as you. By "Plug and push it in about 1/8 of an inch", I assume you are referring to a GFI receptacle. An outlet with two buttons on it Test and reset? Did you push the rest button? What is plugged into it and where does it go? Do not understand "going to the back of the coach"? Where is this GFI located?

The GFI circuit is connected to the Bathroom outlet, Kitchen counter outlets, and outside outlets. Unplug anything plug into these outlets and see it stays reset. The A/C has nothing to do with the GFI circuit. Don't condemn the GFI recptical because it is tripping. It is doing its job. Find the cause of the tripping. Anything plugged in outside?. Raining and getting wet? Overloaded circuit? Heater plugged in? Wife using Hairdryer?

Just reread your post. OK GFI in the bath. Your converter/inverter, whichever you are dealing with is not on the GFI circuit. As stated the GFI that is tripping is for the bath, kitchen countertops and outside outlets. Any outlet near water. Also anything else the assemblers decided to add to the circuit. Refer to the above paragraph.and see what is causing the trip. I'm guessing the circuit is overloaded.

We would like to know what is "plugged in and going to the rear of the coach" although it is not part of your problem.

We need to know if you're referring to your converter or your inverter. Converter = 120 to 12. inverter = 12 to 120
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS
Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Retired Master Electrician.

I know you believe that you understand what you think I said but I'm sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 12:36 PM   #12
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 21,252
Quote:
Originally Posted by rracer5 View Post
there may be loose ground connection (GFI = Ground Fault).
That term they use in a GFCI (Ground Fault) is easy to confuse. A GFCI actually measures the current between the hot line and neutral line...and if there is a tiny mismatch in current between the two, it trips to shut off the current.

The neutral wire is called a grounded "current"/circuit conductor and since it carries current is why it's wire is insulated like a hot wire. The bare ground wire is a different thing and these differences are explained in this link which is easy to understand:

http://www.dummies.com/programming/e...-ground-wires/

What causes these mismatches, is current leaving it's normal path like thru a person or wiring problems in the hot or neutral lines (usually neutral though). Water is a big culprit here, and if it get's into an outlet (like outside) if can cause current mismatches. A screw or nail that nicks a wire can cause this too, as then you will have current leaving the neutral and going into the screw and possibly frame (ground).

A loose ground wire in a any terminal (or connection) that is touching a neutral part CAN cause the GFCI to trip (the current is not going thru it's normal path)..... so all wires/wiring/connections are fair game in determining why a GFCI is tripping. It could be a loose wire/bad connection in any outlet that causes the current imbalance

Also these GFCI outlets just go bad. We've had many reports of that, as well as many reports of the factory not stripping the wire ends well enough as they insert them into the gfci outlets. Vibration from moving the RV down the roads can show up as the wires come loose.

It is curious that the OP stated they were able to push the plug into the outlet from the converter and that made the GFCI able to reset initially. Whether or not that was the culprit, it may be a good starting point to check out. I would suggest that you may possibly have a wiring problem at that outlet the converter plugs into or the cord from the converter to the outlet.

More reading on what or how a GFCI functions.

https://simple.wikipedia.org/wiki/GFCI
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Just imagine, for a moment, if there were no hypothetical situations.
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 12:54 PM   #13
Grammar Pedant
 
67L48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Frederick, CO
Posts: 1,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmtire View Post
[...] Also these GFCI outlets just go bad. [...]
I don't have a motorhome and this is a motorhome question, but the first thought I had was what wmtire mentions above (along with some great descriptions of the theory behind GFCI).

I have had 2 wall receptacles/outlets in homes fail to reset. After checking continuity, grounds, and everything else, I simply replaced the outlet. I think they're around $10 at home improvement stores. Both times, that's what the problem was. The outlets use some form of tripping mechanism and those mechanisms apparently can/do wear out. I imagine the same is true of those used in a motorhome or other RV.

Good luck.
__________________
Every time you use an apostrophe to make a word plural, a puppy dies.

RV: 2018 Rockwood Mini Lite 2504S
TV: 2019 F-350 Lariat 4WD CCSB 6.7 PSD 3.55, 3,591 lb payload
Former RV: 2007 Fleetwood/Coleman Utah
Former TV: 2005 F-150 King Ranch 4WD SCrew 5.4L Tow Package
67L48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 09:51 PM   #14
2018 FR3 30DS
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 180
GFI won't reset

I think that what the OP is trying to say, as this is an FR3 posting, is that the electric plug for the converter has an outlet in the left rear of the FR3 which powers the converter...may be wrong...
Happy New Year
Slow_movin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2018, 10:56 PM   #15
Member
 
tpatino14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slow_movin View Post
I think that what the OP is trying to say, as this is an FR3 posting, is that the electric plug for the converter has an outlet in the left rear of the FR3 which powers the converter...may be wrong...

Happy New Year


Correct.
__________________
2015 Forest River Forrester Class C2250
tpatino14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2018, 10:58 PM   #16
Member
 
tpatino14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by 67L48 View Post
I don't have a motorhome and this is a motorhome question, but the first thought I had was what wmtire mentions above (along with some great descriptions of the theory behind GFCI).



I have had 2 wall receptacles/outlets in homes fail to reset. After checking continuity, grounds, and everything else, I simply replaced the outlet. I think they're around $10 at home improvement stores. Both times, that's what the problem was. The outlets use some form of tripping mechanism and those mechanisms apparently can/do wear out. I imagine the same is true of those used in a motorhome or other RV.



Good luck.


Thank you for your reply! It must be a wiring thing and/or bad Gfi plug.
I was able to reset it again and get through the weekend by taking gfi out of the wall and stretching the wires, etc.. it goes into the shop this next week as itís under warranty still. I really appreciate everyoneís replies and help!
__________________
2015 Forest River Forrester Class C2250
tpatino14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2018, 11:39 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 604
Have you tried the fuse
colourful64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2018, 12:42 AM   #18
Site Team
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 19,324
Quote:
Originally Posted by colourful64 View Post
Have you tried the fuse
Fuses have nothing to do with 110v AC outlets and GFCIs.

Fuses are for 12v DC powered items.
__________________
Dan-Retired California Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2018, 02:48 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 604
That may be true. But when our bathroom gfi pops.. we have to lay on the floor and reset the circuit breaker ... so I guess I should have said circuit breaker and not fuse.. and ours will pop .. if a hair dryer is used in the bathroom. When the air condioner is on or when the electric heater is on
colourful64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2018, 06:01 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Posts: 4,208
Quote:
Originally Posted by colourful64 View Post
That may be true. But when our bathroom gfi pops.. we have to lay on the floor and reset the circuit breaker ... so I guess I should have said circuit breaker and not fuse.. and ours will pop .. if a hair dryer is used in the bathroom. When the air conditioner is on or when the electric heater is on
Now we need some info. .....And ours will pop when the air conditioner is used...... The A/C is on a different circuit than the GFI. it will not be involved with the GFI.

Or when the hair dryer is on. A typical 1500 watt hair dryer will draw about 12.5 amps. cheap hair dryers have Electric leakage. So yes, the breaker and /or GFI will trip IF you have something else on the circuit on. If not, pull the outlet and examine the connections.

Or when the electric heat is on. Same as the Hairdryer without the leakage. 1500 watt heater = 12.5 watts. Turn off the coffee pot when the wife is drying her hair or using the heater.
__________________

__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS
Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Retired Master Electrician.

I know you believe that you understand what you think I said but I'm sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 PM.


×