Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2017, 07:01 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Goofy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 18
Help! No pwr to thermostat 30DS

Help, we are in Indianapolis for our first cold night of camping. And everything seems to be working except that the Thermostat has no power to it! Iíve cycled all the circuit breakerís and checked the three fuses that seem to have anything to do with it. Still no luck. Whatís next?
__________________

__________________
2017 FR3 30DS
Retired MSG from US Army
Goofy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2017, 07:04 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Suffolk, Va.
Posts: 1,182
Everything else is working? If so you have 12v power. Only thing I know to do is pull the cover on the thermostat and check the voltage to it.
__________________

__________________
Michael & Fran Dilday (Baxter & Honey 2 Labs)
'18 Cedar Creek Champagne 38EL - '17 Ford F350 Lariat DRW w/Reese hitch - TST 507 Color TPMS - Garmin RV 770 LMT GPS
mwdilday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2017, 06:47 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Goofy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 18
We made it through the night but still no power to the thermostat.

The thermostat is a combination unit shown in the manual in the Atwood a/c installation. Is there a fuse in the thermostat itself?

We switched power plugs this morning and checked more fuses but still no luck. Any and all suggestions welcome.
__________________
2017 FR3 30DS
Retired MSG from US Army
Goofy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2017, 07:07 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Carl17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 324
fuse

The last time we had no power to thermostat the no. 7 fuse 12 volt in panel was blown . Pull fuses out and check or us volt ohm meter. Not a 100 % sure on number but its in the 12 volt box. check them all.
__________________
Carl & Bette
2018 Leprechaun
NEW YORK
Carl17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2017, 07:17 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 4,027
As mentioned, you need to open the thermostat and see if you have any voltage to it, then work backwards from there.
TheWolfPaq82 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2017, 07:27 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2
Ours was a fuse for the air conditioner. The furnace switching is run through it.
Roadhouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2017, 09:10 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
ceedog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 263
Did you check to see if the thermostat was turned on? There should be a switch on the bottom of the unit.

After that a voltage check would be my next check since you've cycled the breakers & checked the fuses.

Be sure to check every compartment for fuse boxes not mentioned in your coaches literature. In my Berk, there are additional fuse boxes in the coach battery compartment that control a lot of circuits in the back of my coach. They're not mentioned in any literature associated with my coach.

Let us know what you find plz.
__________________
It ain't easy being me...I've tried.

ceedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2017, 04:08 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 34
My bet is the fuse at the foot of the bed is tripped ....
antilley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2017, 08:07 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Goofy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 18
Thanks for all the suggestions. We made it home and used a portable heater to keep the chill (mostly) off. Our night in Michigan was at ~34 deg F.

I'll start a more indepth evaluation and post back when I get it figured out.

Thanks again!
__________________
2017 FR3 30DS
Retired MSG from US Army
Goofy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2017, 12:39 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Goofy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 18
Update 2.0

We got home and took the stuff out of the fridge and our clothes in the house. Finally get back to clean and work on the RV. Start up the generator, push the on/off button on the thermostat and it fires right up!!!! Switch over to heat and the furnace runs like brand new.

To review, on a 30DS the shore power plug is used to plug into the generator output.

The only difference is that I was running on the generator not shore power and I didn't have the jacks down. Other than that everything else was the same.

Suggestions or ideas welcome.
__________________

__________________
2017 FR3 30DS
Retired MSG from US Army
Goofy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
thermostat

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 AM.