Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-02-2016, 10:25 PM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 5
Help please microwave and bedroom Ac

Any help will be appreciated. Microwave stopped working and the bedroom Ac.

Any suggestions? Already checked breaker and reset bathroom gfci is there another gfci?

Adupler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2016, 11:25 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
TURBS's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,205
Help please microwave and bedroom Ac

A/c shouldn't be on a gfci.
You said a/c in bedroom does that mean you have two a/c units?
You should then have two circuit breakers.

2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
2016 nights camped "32"

TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2016, 11:51 PM   #3
Site Team
asquared's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 8,395
Blown fuse? Are you plugged into 30 or 50 Amp power?
<a href= target=_blank></a>
2014 Crew Cab Chevy Silverado 3500 4wd Duramax/Allison
2014 Sabre 34REQS-6
asquared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2016, 02:57 AM   #4
Site Team
wmtire's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 11,059
Originally Posted by Adupler View Post
Any help will be appreciated. Microwave stopped working and the bedroom Ac.

Any suggestions? Already checked breaker and reset bathroom gfci is there another gfci?
We really need more info to figure this out, and can be several things wrong.....and hope you haven't had an over voltage situation, like maybe connecting to a 240 volt outlet somehow.

1. The microwave ONLY works off of 120 volt AC power, and the air conditioner works off of 120 volt AC power too, but also needs 12 volt DC power to the thermostat control for it. So we need to narrow down the problems to 120 volt to begin with.

2. What are you EXACTLY plugged into for 120 volt AC power ? Are you using any kind of adapters on the power cord to possibly plug into something (like a 30 amp outlet)? Are you using the generator? Are you using any kind of EMS (electrical management system) that cuts power to the RV if a problem exists.

If you are at a campground, have you checked the circuit breakers on the campground pedestal?

3. Do other 120 volt AC things work? Television, or something plugged into an electrical outlet?

4. Were these items working, but then quit without any event happening. Like you first connecting to a power pedestal, or anything?

Thanks and hopefully we can narrow down the root cause and get you fixed up.

I am making a few assumptions, since you stated you have a bedroom air conditioner, which I am surmising your RV is of the 50 amp type. A 50 amp RV has two legs of incoming 120 volt AC power, so basically half of your RV is on one leg, while the other half is on the second leg.

If some of the RV's 120 volt stuff is working, but not others, then you could have a problem with just one leg of 120 volt feed...and thus just the things on that one leg are not working.

This is why we need to know what you are connected to for 120 volt power, and HOW you are connected to
same for 120 volt AC power.

Here is a google pic below showing a 50 amp electrical distribution panel so you can see how some stuff is one side, and other stuff is on the other side, as per the diagram above. You may can look at your RV's distribution panel and then see if the items NOT working are all on the same side.

2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

I've just ordered a chicken and an egg from Amazon.... I will keep you posted.
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2016, 11:59 AM   #5
7 Year Class A RV'er
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 875
Just a guess on my part, but it sounds to me like maybe you're lost power on one leg of the outlet you're plugged into. Do you have a way to check that?
2015 Legacy SR340 360RB
2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Toad

Gigi, Poppy and Sadie Lady...On the road, but not full time!
conceptumator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2016, 12:59 PM   #6
Senior Member
Telstar's Avatar
Join Date: May 2013
Location: La Mirada, CA
Posts: 166
I reciently had one wire in the 50 plug on the connecting cable slip away from the screw which killed one side of the breaker panel. Quick fix after isolating the cause.
Gary and Donna
2005 Cardinal 33TS-LX
Trail Air pin box
Center Point suspension
2005 F-350 6.0 psd CC SRW
PullRite Super 5th
Telstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2016, 02:20 PM   #7
Chuck.C's Avatar
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 76
I had the same problem. One side of the 50 amp fed those two things. One hot wire was loose in the cable plug. Tightened it up, no more problem.

2013 Coachmen Mirada 35DL
Chuck, Susan, and dogs- Gracie the Registered SnackHound and Toby the Wonder Boxer
Chuck.C is offline   Reply With Quote

bed, roo

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 AM.