Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2015, 10:56 AM   #31
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by conceptumator View Post
If a 15A breaker is popping, you have other problems. The AC simply doesn't draw that much in newer units. I ran ours that way for over two years without a hitch.
You were lucky. With the ac running or starting up, any additional load should have tripped a 15A breaker. Besides, if the 15A circuit is wired with 14ga wire, you are on the very borderline of it's capability.
__________________

__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 11:08 AM   #32
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,139
I had a electrician install 30amp breaker, 30 ft of cable and a 30 amp RV plug for $200.00 tax in. Not a bad deal, he supplied all parts also
__________________

__________________
2014 Forester 3051s
2016 Nissan Pathfinder SL
2012 Sonic toad
wana65stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 11:10 AM   #33
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by wana65stang View Post
I had a electrician install 30amp breaker, 30 ft of cable and a 30 amp RV plug for $200.00 tax in. Not a bad deal, he supplied all parts also
Wise decision, hope he wired it correctly for an RV and not a regular 30A 220V.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 11:24 AM   #34
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldCoot View Post
Wise decision, hope he wired it correctly for an RV and not a regular 30A 220V.
I would hope so, I use my P.I. surge protector all the time on this ( its at the cottage and power goes out a lot there) it shows a good code reading all the time.The guy said he does a lot of RV plugs up there.
__________________
2014 Forester 3051s
2016 Nissan Pathfinder SL
2012 Sonic toad
wana65stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 11:30 AM   #35
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldCoot View Post
You were lucky. With the ac running or starting up, any additional load should have tripped a 15A breaker. Besides, if the 15A circuit is wired with 14ga wire, you are on the very borderline of it's capability.
Very lucky ! You need to have that 15 amp breaker checked. Circuit breakers are designed to trip within a couple of minutes when the load is 80% or more. 80% of 15 is 12 amps. The breaker starts to heat up at that load. The higher the load the quicker it will trip, till you reach the rating at which time it will trip almost instantly.

The smallest ac rooftop unit is normally a 13,500 btu's unit and normally draws about 13 amps. This should have tripped a 15 amp breaker in a minute or two. Contrary to popular belief breakers do go bad.

DO NOT TRY THIS AT HOME!!!

I had a receptacle that was broken in a building I was working in one day. It wasn't marked in the breaker panel so I shorted out the wires to see what breaker would trip. Almost started a fire ! Breaker was bad and wouldn't trip! The wires got hot and started to smoke. I had to go get a taiser (tracer tool) to trace the circuit.

Oh, I should have mentioned I was an industrial electrician with over 35 years experience at the time.

Jim
__________________
07 Dodge 1500 crew cab with 20" wheels, 08 Forest River Rockwood Signature Ultra-lite 8280SS
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore, all progress depends on the unreasonable man."
George Bernard Shaw
oldtool2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 11:56 AM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by gljurczyk View Post
Yep, that's why I moved to Virginia. Gas at $2.35 not $4.25 per gal. Don't have the slightest idea what a electrician cost in Calif. anymore. lived there for 25 years and now in Virginia for 12 years. Have no idea what it cost in Canada, but you can get it done here for $500.00 bucks easy. 20 years ago when I owned a HVAC company had a change out for 350.00 for any new A/C installation, so I added inflation.( I guess not enough)...Love that State (25 years) with my family still living in the Bay Area. But I sure can't afford it on retirement. My Son has to drive over 2 hrs each way to Google for work, but can't afford any area in Silicone valley. That's 4 hrs. of travel a day and being away from his family( wasted time), You do what you have to do....
I here what your saying. Prices here are crazy here and we will probably have to retire outside of California.
I'm thinking somewhere where Gas is at your prices and where it rains once and a while. Forgot, not to mention all the Bloody Traffic. LOL
Thanks.
__________________
barrie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 12:20 PM   #37
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by gljurczyk View Post
Yep, that's why I moved to Virginia. Gas at $2.35 not $4.25 per gal. Don't have the slightest idea what a electrician cost in Calif. anymore. lived there for 25 years and now in Virginia for 12 years. Have no idea what it cost in Canada, but you can get it done here for $500.00 bucks easy. 20 years ago when I owned a HVAC company had a change out for 350.00 for any new A/C installation, so I added inflation.( I guess not enough)...Love that State (25 years) with my family still living in the Bay Area. But I sure can't afford it on retirement. My Son has to drive over 2 hrs each way to Google for work, but can't afford any area in Silicone valley. That's 4 hrs. of travel a day and being away from his family( wasted time), You do what you have to do....
And I thought my drive was bad, 1 hour 15 minutes each way. Retired now and don't miss that drive one bit! Still living in south Jersey but have thought about selling house and going full time in my 5th wheel. Maybe one day, maybe soon. My wife, before she passed, use to tell the kids we were buying a large MH and not telling anyone where we were at. Would give them an address to forward important mail to once a month.

Sounds better every month!

Jim
__________________
07 Dodge 1500 crew cab with 20" wheels, 08 Forest River Rockwood Signature Ultra-lite 8280SS
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore, all progress depends on the unreasonable man."
George Bernard Shaw
oldtool2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 03:03 PM   #38
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2,078
Quote:
Originally Posted by gljurczyk View Post
My Son has to drive over 2 hrs each way to Google for work, but can't afford any area in Silicone valley. That's 4 hrs. of travel a day and being away from his family( wasted time), You do what you have to do....
I feel his pain. I did that for almost 5 years. For me, 2 hours was on a GOOD day.
__________________
Iwritecode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 08:12 PM   #39
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,155
Where oh where has our OP gone?
__________________
WolfWhistle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 11:09 PM   #40
Senior Member
 
Batts-toy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ripon, California
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by WolfWhistle View Post
Where oh where has our OP gone?
I don't know what happened to him but, what is the current topic? Looks like commuting, One of my sons just transferred (works for Tesla motors) had two hour commute to bay area (Fremont) now has 10 minutes (Lathrop), another son's job transferred him to Boise had 1 1/2 hour to bay area will now have 15 minutes from home they are looking at buying.
__________________

__________________
Dale & Terri, Lulu & Tiki (our Chihuahua's), New rescue puppy Prince - Pom/Pug mix.
2013 Tundra, Double Cab, 5.7, TRD Off-Road, 4X4, Full Tow Package
2013 Wildwood T26TBSS - Sold
2000 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager M-8357 MH, Ford Trident V10 Gasser, 35 foot.
Batts-toy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 PM.