Old 02-08-2016, 08:40 PM   #1
Looking to buy a 2016-2017 FR3 30 DS

I am new to RVing, currently on our first extended trip in a "starter motorhome". After much research, I am considering an FR3 30DS with the new Triton V-10 and 6-speed transmission. My priorities are purchase price, floor plan, size of holding tanks (we visit a lot of state campgrounds without full hookups), QUALITY AND DEALER SERVICE. I would sincerely appreciate any and all input on this model (and alternatives). Thank you very much.

rickydeee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2016, 08:54 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
The new chassis with the 6spd transmission is nice.

2016 Georgetown 364TS
Nights Camped
2014 - 56
2015 - 41
2016 - 64
AquaMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2016, 09:24 PM   #3
from Cali
I would definitely above all consider the dealer as you will be working with them after the sale for sure. Try to find one that has a good reputation from previous customers. My experience was most of them would tell you what ever you wanted to hear to get a sale.

If you're looking for a class A with minimal frills but at the class C pricing this may be the rig for you. For me it was all about the floor plan. I loved the large open living area and a nice bedroom.

If you really want in-depth information I would suggest reading the other threads in this section there is plenty to consider.

Have fun in that "starter" and I hope you enjoy your travels.

2015 FR3 30DS
Central Coast of California
2015 FR3 30DS
2014 Jeep Rubicon X
Central Coast of California
RV Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2016, 09:04 AM   #4
I have a 2015 30 DS and I am very happy. I had a few minor problems but I enjoy it.
welder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2016, 12:19 PM   #5
My 30DS is a 2013-2014 model which we purchased used a few months ago. We have been delighted.
DavidH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2016, 01:36 PM   #6