Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-12-2016, 04:39 PM   #1

More than a weekend???

Is the FR3 suitable for extended use? We presently have a Coachmen Leperchaun 230CB. Just the two of us and a couple small dogs. But when we get to where ever we want more room to live in on rainy days and in the evening. We seldom if ever have guests stay over, we just need more room for extended living. Also, what about using the FR3 in cold weather? Any and all responses are appreciated.
Bob Montgomery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 08:30 PM   #2
AD2

I have limited experience with the FR3 and ours is a 28ds. I can tell you we were in Lexington Ky for a half marathon April 2nd and the wing was blowing and the over night low was around 25. There were two of us and the two dogs. Since the weather was cold, I packed a 1500 watt ceramic heater and ran just that heater over night as I forgot to turn on the furnace.
The dogs ended up on or in the bed with us and in the morning it was intolerably cold in the unit. My opinion is these units are not well insulated and the windows and slides leak terribly. I did have vent pillows in the roof vents and they were needed.
I learned a valuable lesson not to rely on the small electric heater. Just to calibrate you the heater is 1.5 kilowatts or about 5,118 btu per hour. It undoubtedly was not nearly enough. I am not sure I could be comfortable camping in the cold weather with our unit. I think the propane cost would be very costly.
Old 04-13-2016, 06:03 AM   #3

Extended Travel

Hi Bob: