Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-20-2018, 02:11 AM   #1
2015 FR3 25DS
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 41
Outlets not working

Finally got out for the first time this summer and outlets aren't working. Lights are working, Fantastic Fan works, stereo system works, but not outlets (including GFCI, fridge, microwave).
Our EMS says the 30Volt is E 0 (no issues) and the circuit breakers and fuses under the bed all seem fine.

Any tips or ideas?

Thanks!!

2015 FR3 25DS
__________________

Newbies in an FR3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2018, 04:53 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Broward County
Posts: 298
Are you running the gen or are you on shorepower? Your EMS is a Progressive Industries? Why does it say 30V, outlets, microwave, fridge all need 120V.

Did you check the gfci in the bathroom?
__________________

DutchRv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2018, 06:39 AM   #3
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 11,945
Quote:
Originally Posted by DutchRv View Post
Are you running the gen or are you on shorepower? Your EMS is a Progressive Industries? Why does it say 30V, outlets, microwave, fridge all need 120V.

Did you check the gfci in the bathroom?
I suspect the OP means 30 amp.

My guess is that the GFCI master needs to be reset as you say.
__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 =111/'19 = 74; booked = 12
Mr. Dan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2018, 08:32 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: payson, az
Posts: 2,125
i suspect he means the 30 amp shore power cord is showing E-0. what is it showing as the incoming voltage? are you getting power from the pedestal? does the air conditioner turn on? if so you are getting power inside. try resetting ALL circuit breakers and gfci's (there may be multiple).
__________________
2015 cardinal model 3825fl
2015 dodge ram 3500 dually
CHICKDOE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2018, 08:33 AM   #5
2015 FR3 25DS
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Dan View Post
I suspect the OP means 30 amp.



My guess is that the GFCI master needs to be reset as you say.


Oops, yes- 30 Amp shorepower. Frustration at midnight leads to using the wrong words!

And GFCI won’t reset- buttons won’t “pop”. I’m assuming it has no power, like the other outlets.
Newbies in an FR3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2018, 08:54 AM   #6
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 11,945
OK, trying something else ==> You wrote "circuit breakers and fuses under the bed all seem fine." Do you see a breaker marked "GFCI"?

If not, keep looking!

If so, flip that breaker OFF soundly and then back ON. Now try to reset your GFCI master outlet.


You also wrote 'And GFCI won’t reset- buttons won’t “pop”.' You used 'buttonS' plural. Do you have two GFCI master outlets or are you talking about the two buttons on ONE GFCI master?


However, I think there's something else amiss. Normally, the fridge and microwave are not on a GFCI circuit. Is your EMS portable or hardwired?



Is your power cord detachable? If so, did you insert it into your trailer and twist to the right until it seated?
__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 =111/'19 = 74; booked = 12
Mr. Dan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2018, 09:11 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 2,421
It sounds like you are not getting 120 volts at all to the panel. Sounds like nothing works that needs 120 volts. If your energy monitor is happy, that means the pedestal is good. I would try resetting the main breaker (30 amp) in the panel.
__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2018, 09:20 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: payson, az
Posts: 2,125
my error. if the ems is showing E-0, power is getting at least that far. what is unknown is if any power i getting inside. as mentioned reset ALL circuit breakers and see if that helps. try the a/c to see if it has power. it will not be protected by a gfci. if these simple tests don't resolve the issue then you'll need to start tracking cables to see where the issue is.
__________________
2015 cardinal model 3825fl
2015 dodge ram 3500 dually
CHICKDOE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2018, 09:28 AM   #9
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10,034
If you are showing 30A at the EMS then something in your unit is drawing power. I would

1. shut off pedestal breaker
2. disconnect RV from EMS,
3. turn on pedestal breaker

4. Allow EMS safety timer ( if equipped) to time out 3 mins
5. Check reading on EMS Voltage, Current, error code
6. Shut off breaker in pedestal
7 connect RV power cord to EMS

8 Turn on pedestal
9 wait for time out and record the voltage, current and error codes and report back.
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2018, 10:21 PM   #10
2015 FR3 25DS
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 41
Sorry I'm just getting back here; spotty internet service! But we switched spots and everything worked fine the next day- but now we're very familiar with our electrical system, so that's good!
__________________

Newbies in an FR3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 PM.