Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-04-2018, 10:32 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 36
Power Problem when Dry Camping

Last night we dry camped and could not get power to the TV , air conditioner and microwave when we parked and started the generator. I reset all the breakers several times including the bathroom plug in. Breaker, the breaker switches in the bedroom and the breaker switch at the generator. I also shut off the coach power at the steps. We also turned the fridge and hot water to gas beer trying to power up generator. Finally, the air conditioner was in the off position before we powered up the generator.
Woke up this morning and turned the breaker switch in the bedroom on and reset the bathroom plug in breaker switch and everything worked. I did not move the coach or anything else.
Can anybody tell me why this happens?
Thanks,
Bob
__________________

Dolce2017 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2018, 10:51 AM   #2
World Wide Wanderer
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Sprung Leak, NC
Posts: 1,628
What is the make and model of the unit, and generator?

Sounds like it popped the GFCI, but not sure why that would knock everything out, typically when a GFCI pops it only takes out a few items. Also what is the "breaker" in the bedroom? All my breakers are in the breaker panel at the converter.

Aaron
__________________

__________________
Aaron & Rhonda
wahoonc & Airangel60

2016 Coachmen Concord 300DS
2015 Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2018, 11:54 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by wahoonc View Post
What is the make and model of the unit, and generator?

Sounds like it popped the GFCI, but not sure why that would knock everything out, typically when a GFCI pops it only takes out a few items. Also what is the "breaker" in the bedroom? All my breakers are in the breaker panel at the converter.

Aaron


No power to GFCI. My breaker box is in bedroom on my FR3 28 ds 2015.
Dolce2017 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2018, 12:02 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 13,890
Do you really have a Transfer Switch? Youroo!!
__________________
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2018, 12:02 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Cedar Creek Lake, TX
Posts: 2,417
Do you have a transfer switch, or manually move the electrical plug when on the generator? It sounds like your transfer switch didn't switch over to generator. The problem is most likely not the GFCI as the A/C and usually the microwave are not on a GFCI circuit.
__________________
Cedar Creek Lake, Texas
2017 Wildwood 27 RLSS
2016 Ram 5.7L crewcab, 8 speed transmission
CedarCreekWoody is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2018, 12:34 PM   #6
jkoenig24
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Box Elder, SD (formerly NY)
Posts: 660
"We also turned the fridge and hot water to gas beer"

What is this "gas beer" you're trying to run on?????

jkoenig24 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2018, 03:43 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 36
No transfer switch. My breaker is in the bedroom.
Dolce2017 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2018, 04:17 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Cedar Creek Lake, TX
Posts: 2,417
You manually plug into the generator? Do your have power there? Power at the converter? Power coming out of all breakers?
__________________
Cedar Creek Lake, Texas
2017 Wildwood 27 RLSS
2016 Ram 5.7L crewcab, 8 speed transmission
CedarCreekWoody is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2018, 04:37 PM   #9
World Wide Wanderer
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Sprung Leak, NC
Posts: 1,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dolce2017 View Post
No transfer switch. My breaker is in the bedroom.
Do you have to plug your power cord into a plug on your motor home when you use the generator? The same wire that would go to the power pole.

Aaron

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
__________________
Aaron & Rhonda
wahoonc & Airangel60

2016 Coachmen Concord 300DS
2015 Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2018, 06:03 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 36
The generator is built in from the factory. It worked this afternoon when I obtained gas . During my drive I shut off all the breakers and the hfci switch in the bathroom outlet. After I started the generator and let it run for 30 seconds then I turned the breakers on then the hfci switch in the bathroom. Everything worked.
I will try again tonight when I stop tonight.
Thanks,
Bob
__________________

Dolce2017 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
camping, dry camping, power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 PM.