Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2017, 07:32 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Philadelphia area
Posts: 4
Rookie error or fault??

I'm pleased to have taken delivery of a FR3 32DS yesterday , our first motorhome.

Alas there were a few issues spotted on the walk-around, & more became evident by the time I got home (park brake not releasing fully, door not closing, faulty armrest, hole in shade...). The coach will obviously be heading back for rectification, hopefully soon...

However there is one other issue that may just be my lack of understanding. The TV's and microwave don't seem to have power to them (they worked while connected to the external power at the dealers). I have checked the breakers in the bedroom, & even reset the GFI in the bathroom. Is there something I'm missing, or is this another fault?

While I'm at it, anyone know where the switch is for the map lights above the front bunk area?

Looking forward to the learning experience & getting these niggles behind us..

Thanks in advance for any advice.
__________________

ChrisEdwardsUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 07:35 PM   #2
Member
 
david_reaves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 311
Chris,

The TVs, Microwave, and any other 120 volt appliances ONLY work when connected externally (unless they are special 12-volt systems)
__________________

david_reaves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 07:50 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Philadelphia area
Posts: 4
Thanks for the reply David, I guess that explains it. I had expected that they would be powered by the batteries when not connected externally, I'm sure the salesman mentioned that the TV's could be watched by passengers whilst traveling?
ChrisEdwardsUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 08:01 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
ManlyMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 294
If you run your onboard generator you will be able to watch television and run your microwave. This should have been explained to you.
ManlyMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 08:01 PM   #5
Who Dares, Wins
 
doc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 6,625
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisEdwardsUSA View Post
Thanks for the reply David, I guess that explains it. I had expected that they would be powered by the batteries when not connected externally, I'm sure the salesman mentioned that the TV's could be watched by passengers whilst traveling?
Maybe, if you are running the generator or have an invertor (not sure but doubt the FR3 has it). I know with a Sunseeker the TV would not work because they disable it when the RV is in drive. But that can be disconnected pretty easy if the case.
__________________

Pat, Jen, Heather & Sapphire, the head mouser.
2015 ChevyHD D-Max
2018 Artic Wolf 315tbh8
doc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 08:09 PM   #6
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 21,737
As a new RV owner, I usually recommend these articles that explain the electric systems in easy terms and also the SWDE Suburban water heater (if equipped)

These are a few things that some (not all) dealers don't really go over in much detail.

You can just peruse them at your leisure:


Basic RV Electricity - RV Information (RV Maintenance)

RV Converters and Amp Draw - RV Information (RV Maintenance)

RV Electric

Suburban's electric switch and much more
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Geaux Tigers!!!!
wmtire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 09:20 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Antone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Posts: 264
You can run your generator while driving too and everything will work.
Antone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 09:33 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Jack Larson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: El Cajon (Crest)
Posts: 141
The water heater posts sure helped me as a new owner. It's hard to take it all in during the PDI. Many answers can be found here thanks to those who take the time to help us out.
Jack Larson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 03:25 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Royston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: St. Catharines, Ontario
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisEdwardsUSA View Post
I'm pleased to have taken delivery of a FR3 32DS yesterday , our first motorhome.

While I'm at it, anyone know where the switch is for the map lights above the front bunk area?


Thanks in advance for any advice.
If it is on the drivers side check the instrument light dimmer. beside the light switch I have a ford chassis and that's how I turn the map light on. Rotate past the point where the instrument lights are the brightest and it should click on
Attached Images
 
Royston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 07:01 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Philadelphia area
Posts: 4
Thanks Royston, that solved the mystery of the map lights!

Still can't figure out the TV's / Microwave, not working even with generator running. Back to the dealers tomorrow...
ChrisEdwardsUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 07:09 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Antone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Posts: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisEdwardsUSA View Post
Thanks Royston, that solved the mystery of the map lights!

Still can't figure out the TV's / Microwave, not working even with generator running. Back to the dealers tomorrow...


Just to be sure, you do have it plugged in to the main in the left rear, correct? When you unplug from shore power, you should plug it back in. Otherwise the generator is not sending power anywhere.
Antone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 07:09 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Rising Sun, MD
Posts: 38
We had an issue with the emergency brake also. I believe ford had a recall on them. We had to take ours back to the dealer also.
Rdifuccia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 07:46 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Royston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: St. Catharines, Ontario
Posts: 130
Can you try on mains power by plugging into a good power supply. If the fridge and M/W work then you may want to check the breaker on the generator, there are 2
Royston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 07:51 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Rising Sun, MD
Posts: 38
Dont forget to use the generator you need to plug the shore power (30 or 50 amp plug) into the "outlet" in the rear compartment. The outlet should be mounted in the last storage compartment on the drivers side and if I remember correctly is mounted on the wall that is the back wall of your coach. That connects you generator to the coach. Hope that's your problem and I can save you a trip.
Rdifuccia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 08:07 PM   #15
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 21,737
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antone View Post
Just to be sure, you do have it plugged in to the main in the left rear, correct? When you unplug from shore power, you should plug it back in. Otherwise the generator is not sending power anywhere.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rdifuccia View Post
Dont forget to use the generator you need to plug the shore power (30 or 50 amp plug) into the "outlet" in the rear compartment. The outlet should be mounted in the last storage compartment on the drivers side and if I remember correctly is mounted on the wall that is the back wall of your coach. That connects you generator to the coach. Hope that's your problem and I can save you a trip.
What the members above are trying to explain, that if your RV isn't equipped with an automatic transfer switch (which automatically switches your incoming power source from either the campground pedestal or the onboard generator), then you have to MANUALLY plug your power cord into the generators outlet. This way the generator sends power thru the shore power cord to your RV outlets and such.

If you unplug the shore power cord from the onboard generator outlet, and plug it into a campground pedestal....then the pedestal is sending power to your RV. You cannot plug into the pedestal outlet and the generator outlet at the same time. It's one or the other...and you make the choice,....but you have to manually do it.

If you are not plugged into the campground pedestal,,,,you have no AC power unless you manually plug the power cord into the onboard generators outlet.

See pic. Different RV's do this different ways. Some you plug into a generators female outlet like this pic. I don't have a pic handy of all the connection scenarios, but you should get the premise.

__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Geaux Tigers!!!!
wmtire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 09:09 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Antone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Posts: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmtire View Post
What the members above are trying to explain, that if your RV isn't equipped with an automatic transfer switch (which automatically switches your incoming power source from either the campground pedestal or the onboard generator), then you have to MANUALLY plug your power cord into the generators outlet. This way the generator sends power thru the shore power cord to your RV outlets and such.

If you unplug the shore power cord from the onboard generator outlet, and plug it into a campground pedestal....then the pedestal is sending power to your RV. You cannot plug into the pedestal outlet and the generator outlet at the same time. It's one or the other...and you make the choice,....but you have to manually do it.

If you are not plugged into the campground pedestal,,,,you have no AC power unless you manually plug the power cord into the onboard generators outlet.

See pic. Different RV's do this different ways. Some you plug into a generators female outlet like this pic. I don't have a pic handy of all the connection scenarios, but you should get the premise.



Right, right. Thank you.
Antone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2017, 07:56 AM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Philadelphia area
Posts: 4
Thanks for the tips everyone. The power cable was plugged into the generator receptacle, BUT I learned that to reset the GFI it has to have power to it at that moment. I had thought I reset it a couple of times, but not while the generator was running. Lesson learned! Thanks again everyone for taking the time to help.
ChrisEdwardsUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2017, 08:00 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Royston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: St. Catharines, Ontario
Posts: 130
We all learn something new every day on this forum, knowledge is not knowledge until you share it with someone
Royston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2017, 10:07 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Antone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Posts: 264
Antone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2017, 10:18 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
BandJCarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Between Pickles Gap and Toad Suck, AR
Posts: 5,823
Quote:
Originally Posted by Royston View Post
We all learn something new every day on this forum, knowledge is not knowledge until you share it with someone
Ha.

I had a college professor who said "Knowledge quadruples every time you share it with someone".

Took me a while to figure that one out, but it is (potentially) true! When both share again, it has quadrupled.
__________________

__________________
"Next to prayer, fishing is the most personal relationship of man" Herbert Hoover
"American by Birth, Southern by the Grace of God"Lewis Grizzard

FROG AR-0019-242
2016 GMC Denali 3500Dually--2017 CC 36CKTS
BandJCarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
roo

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 AM.


×