Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2015, 01:28 PM   #1
bes
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Las Vegas FR3 28
Posts: 66
TireMinder (TPS) Booster installation

Hi Guys; Can anyone give some input to where /how they installed the booster unit.....THANKS Barry
__________________

__________________
bes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 04:34 PM   #2
Former Full Timer
 
Duckogram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,148
What booster unit? I know they make them but unless you are driving a bus or pulling a 45'er with a HDT it is unlikely that you would need one. You may have to relocate your receiver...
__________________

__________________
The recipe for perpetual ignorance is:
Be satisfied with your opinions
and content with your knowledge.
Elbert Hubbard
Duckogram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 05:00 PM   #3
bes
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Las Vegas FR3 28
Posts: 66
They are emphatic about installing the signal booster........I do use a tow dolly w/ vehicle.....Thanks
__________________
bes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 06:01 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Timex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Posts: 1,658
I hooked mine in the nose of my Vlite. Tied into the positive/negative side coming out of the battery disconnect.

And yes, you will need the booster. As a matter of fact, they don't sell the units without the boosters anymore.

I'd like to post a pic but the system is not letting me now.
__________________
2012 Flagstaff V Lite 30 WRLTS
2005 Dodge Ram 2500 5.7 Mag Hemi 3.72 Rearaxle
Nights camped 2015 = 23
Nights camped 2016 = 25
Nights camped 2017 = 13
Timex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 06:56 PM   #5
bes
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Las Vegas FR3 28
Posts: 66
Thanks-wish it was that easy. I need to find hot and ground in the back of the motorhome. Most everything back there is operated by lights, brakes, etc...
__________________
bes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 07:19 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
gashog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 343
If you haven't bought the TireMinder yet DON"T buy it. Get the the TST 507RV you'll be very happy with it. TST 507RV 4 Wheel Towed Vehicle System w/ Cap Sens & Repeter for Sale Online - Vulcan Tire Sales

I had the Tireminder for around 3 years and IMO it's worthless.
__________________
2015 Rockwood Windjammer 3029W Diamond Package

2014 RAM 2500 Laramie Longhorn 4 x 4
6.4 Hemi 410 HP, 410 Rear Axle
gashog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 07:43 PM   #7
Former Full Timer
 
Duckogram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,148
My bad. I assumed that all tpms were created equally. I use the TST507. Had it on a 40' 5er and moved it to my 29' A + toad. Never had the need for a booster. Did have to raise the receiver to a higher location in the MH. So its X2 for what gashog wrote...
__________________
The recipe for perpetual ignorance is:
Be satisfied with your opinions
and content with your knowledge.
Elbert Hubbard
Duckogram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 08:04 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
gashog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 343
With the TireMinders you have to manually scroll through to check PSI and Temp (taking your eyes off the road for quite sometime fiddling with it) and my TireMinder would randomly lose the signal from time to time.
I replaced my TireMinders with the TST 507RV. We logged over 3,000 miles with the TST 507's this year and it was flawless never losing a signal. While drive you don't have to push any buttons to check your PSI and Temp, the TST 507 unit scrolls continuously thru every tire showing you the PSI and Temp (totally hands free).
__________________
2015 Rockwood Windjammer 3029W Diamond Package

2014 RAM 2500 Laramie Longhorn 4 x 4
6.4 Hemi 410 HP, 410 Rear Axle
gashog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 08:42 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Stank Bait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 177
I put the repeater on the receiver under the bumper and wired it to the batteries on the trailer with a plug. The receiver keeps the signal from being disrupted. As I understand it some wifi/ radio type frequencies in motor homes etc can RFI the monitor. I just wrap the wire around the receiver when not being used and velcro the wire. Could wire it differently but that just seemed easier and faster at the time.
__________________
2013 Flagstaff 831FKBSS
Stank Bait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2015, 07:50 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
jevanb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,441
I too have the 507 and repeater, I got it for 1/2 off. Used it once and forget to hook it up and never lost a signal. My tires are prob 35ft from the display

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________
2012 Wildcat 344QB

06 LBZ ,CC 4x
lots of mods
Superglide
jevanb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tire

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 AM.