Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2015, 12:06 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 76
Using 50 AMP

My RVing experience started in May of 2014 when I picked up my 30DS from a dealer in Indiana. Since that time twice I've had electrical problems relating to the power pedestal at RV parks. In both instanced while connected to the 30 AMP plugs the power has tripped off from the pedestal circuit breakers. I know the RV was not pulling more than 30 amps in either instance. Last night here in the RV park in Pensacola a neighbor lost power when the 30 amp circuit breaker on his pedestal failed. Fortunately he had a 50 to 30 amp adapter and we were able to connect to the 50 amp side and power him up. My standard procedure now is to plug my unit into the 50 amp side using the 50 to 30 adapter if there is 50 amp service at the RV park. I also have an inline surge suppressor that I use whenever plugged into outside power.
__________________

__________________
z3406 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 12:57 PM   #2
Ret E-9 Anchor-clanker
 
donanddona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Genoa, ILL
Posts: 1,424
Most have had that experience. I once had to use a extension cord to reach the other pole. Good thing no one was their. Now I trip, set, trip, set, a couple of times before using and with that I will use 50amp if available. The 30s are normally so loose, or weak, I often leave a note or talk with the CG Mgr. about the need to replace. All that being said I still have a meter plugged inn to monitor the running voltage. Just another quick check to the control board daily checks.
__________________

__________________
Don & Dona W/yorkies Gizmo, Master Chief, & Tali
2011 Flagstaff 8528 BHSS 2015 Ford 6.7 XLT
2010 Full Timers & Still Going
donanddona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 01:28 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by donanddona View Post
Most have had that experience. I once had to use a extension cord to reach the other pole. Good thing no one was their. Now I trip, set, trip, set, a couple of times before using and with that I will use 50amp if available. The 30s are normally so loose, or weak, I often leave a note or talk with the CG Mgr. about the need to replace. All that being said I still have a meter plugged inn to monitor the running voltage. Just another quick check to the control board daily checks.
X's 2 on that I use 50 all the time and drop it to 30. Your 30 in the trailer is your protector.
__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 10:08 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 64
Can you use a 30 amp surge protector on a 50 amp outlet with the adapter cable?
__________________
jbutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 10:11 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmot Twp, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8,604
Quote:
Originally Posted by gljurczyk View Post
X's 2 on that I use 50 all the time and drop it to 30. Your 30 in the trailer is your protector.
I would rather burn up a dogbone than my surge suppressor connector. Same here.
__________________
B and B is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 10:12 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbutch View Post
Can you use a 30 amp surge protector on a 50 amp outlet with the adapter cable?
Yep do it all the time hook it to the dog bone then hook your trailer plug in as normal.
__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 10:34 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
geotex1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 730
I agree and learned long ago that 50A to 30A adapters are must-haves! Plenty of pedestals I've hooked to were downright dangerous with how worn the 30A and 15/20A receptacles were, but the 50A practically new!
__________________
geotex1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 10:55 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
vinmaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: MA
Posts: 1,793
Quote:
Originally Posted by geotex1 View Post
I agree and learned long ago that 50A to 30A adapters are must-haves! Plenty of pedestals I've hooked to were downright dangerous with how worn the 30A and 15/20A receptacles were, but the 50A practically new!
So true. I hate it when there is no 50amp option.
__________________

__________________

2015 HW296
2006 HW256 (previous pup)
2013 Chevy Tahoe
Equalizer WDH 1000#
vinmaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
50 amp

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 AM.