Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2016, 04:53 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 58
Overflow Tube

Just got back from the MH storage and thought I would share the picture of how I fixed the problem of the water overflow. Replaced the clear tube with a longer one, added a conduit u-bracket to hold it up. Re-sealed around the tube at the bottom and added two wire ties to hold the tube in place. Real simple to do and it fixed the problem.
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ducky Due-13.jpg
Views:	191
Size:	60.3 KB
ID:	98423
__________________

__________________
Mr J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2016, 12:06 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
b1barnes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Spirit Lake, ID
Posts: 162
Fr says add three loops on top of the tank. I just purchased extra hose and a nipple and three hose clamps. Fixed fine.
__________________

__________________
b1barnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2016, 11:25 AM   #13
from Cali
 
RV Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 95
I'm glad the single loop help you but I don't see how one loop could solve the problem. I frequently siphon water from a large lobster tank with a similar size hose and the loop in the hose doesn't prevent siphoning thing at all. First of all why does the overflow draw from the bottom of the tank? Wouldn't it just make more sense to put it at the top? Anyway, so Forest River is saying to add three loops? Why are they providing some sort of retrofit kit?

Thanks for any input. Sorry if I'm a little frustrated. I just don't understand why they decided to reinvent the wheel when obviously this set up has been used in RVs for years. Maybe there is a logical explanation for this design.


2015 FR3 30DS
Central Coast of California
__________________
______________________
2015 FR3 30DS
2014 Jeep Rubicon X
Central Coast of California
RV Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2016, 11:46 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by RV Pilot View Post
I'm glad the single loop help you but I don't see how one loop could solve the problem. I frequently siphon water from a large lobster tank with a similar size hose and the loop in the hose doesn't prevent siphoning thing at all. First of all why does the overflow draw from the bottom of the tank? Wouldn't it just make more sense to put it at the top? Anyway, so Forest River is saying to add three loops? Why are they providing some sort of retrofit kit?

Thanks for any input. Sorry if I'm a little frustrated. I just don't understand why they decided to reinvent the wheel when obviously this set up has been used in RVs for years. Maybe there is a logical explanation for this design.
2015 FR3 30DS
Central Coast of California
You are correct. I only go back to the year 2000 in a Motorhome and this issue was the same then. Georgie Boy fix was to add a loop upward in vent tube (overflow) for their Cruise Master Motorhome. Fixed it then and apparently now. Did my 2012 FR Georgetown the second day after purchase. Some things never change.
__________________
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2016, 12:21 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
b1barnes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Spirit Lake, ID
Posts: 162
FR will fix under warranty. I decided not to as there is not a dealer in the area worthy to touch my coach as nothing they have ever fixed has stayed fixed. Call make an appointment wait three weeks, drive 30 miles, leave the coach for two weeks to then find they still have not made the repair ETC ETC ETC..

I have no idea why three loops, but it works. I also do not know why it will siphon out so much. So for $10 and 10 minutes of my time it was fixed.

Many of the fixes I have made are due to not so logical methods of construction general piss poor quality.
__________________
b1barnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2016, 08:54 PM   #16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr J View Post
Well I fixed the problem with the water draining out. I took the overflow tube out and replaced it with a new longer one. Made a loop in it so the loop was above the water tank. Fixed the problem for around $4 for the new tube. Will post picture of the fix soon.
please send photo of how you got to tank
__________________
james.leonard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2016, 08:55 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 3
water draining out overflow
__________________
james.leonard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2016, 09:06 PM   #18
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 3
water siphoning out over flow tube
__________________
james.leonard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2016, 03:50 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by james.leonard View Post
please send photo of how you got to tank
Ref. Post #11. To get to the tank you have to remove the black panel. The one inside the side compartment just above the drain tubes. Left panel off, gives me more places to store small items used to wash the unit. Just a note, some have to add two - three loops to stop water from braining.
__________________
Mr J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2016, 08:11 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 30
Thanks drivemsafe for the great and simple fix. Made it this weekend.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	325.3 KB
ID:	112975  
__________________

__________________
JBDALHB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
water

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51 AM.