Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-13-2017, 10:51 PM   #1

Cooked Brakes!!!

I recently took my T2460 in for some warranty repairs and also asked them to check the TT brakes as I thought they were not working 100%. I always check the gain on the controller before I set off each trip so that is how I knew the brakes were not functioning correctly. The dealer reports the brake linings are glazed and the bearing grease looks as if it has melted out. The trailer has only done 2600 miles and to put it mildly I am really concerned and looking for some answers. I am new to towing and I have been very careful in the use of the brakes and rely more on the tow haul for descents than the brakes. I am not the only driver and I am not always in the truck on some legs of the trip so I do not know if the other driver is as careful as I am with the braking. One of my concerns is that my FIL who tows a 5th wheel advised me to never use the downshift when I want to slow in traffic or stop but to use the trailer brakes to slow down. Could this be one of the reasons my brakes are cooking as I am using the TT brakes to slow down?

Thanks
Cahriad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2017, 11:20 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cahriad View Post
One of my concerns is that my FIL who tows a 5th wheel advised me to never use the downshift when I want to slow in traffic or stop but to use the trailer brakes to slow down. Could this be one of the reasons my brakes are cooking as I am using the TT brakes to slow down
That definitely could be a reason. The TT brakes are made to stop the TT...ONLY!
babock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2017, 10:48 AM   #3
Site Team

Assuming that RV has EZ-Lube axles, they may have had a problem from the start.