Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2016, 10:09 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Blacknchromehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 273
250 Amp fuse

Learned this morning to make sure the engine heater is plugged in prior to trying to start it on such a cold day. Chassis Battery's are suspect so I push the Aux switch trying to start it and soon nothing...seems I blew the 250 Amp battery that protects the system trying to start with such low battery strength.

New part here by noon...hook back up and get heat back on inside
__________________

__________________
Blacknchromehd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 11:59 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 318
Most starters pull around 200 amps. You may want to change it to a resettable breaker......
__________________

__________________
2016 Wildwood 32BHDS
2004 F-250 CC 4X4 V10
Mars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 12:16 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
captnrick3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Santee, CA
Posts: 509
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blacknchromehd View Post
Learned this morning to make sure the engine heater is plugged in prior to trying to start it on such a cold day. Chassis Battery's are suspect so I push the Aux switch trying to start it and soon nothing...seems I blew the 250 Amp battery that protects the system trying to start with such low battery strength.

New part here by noon...hook back up and get heat back on inside
Interesting. Too cold for me.
__________________
2015 Legacy 340KP
2012 Wrangler Sport
captnrick3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 04:26 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
DrJAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 189
Where is that fuse located? I can't keep track of them!


2015 Legacy RB, Soon to be 2013 CRV toad. Retired USAF. Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________
-DrJAG
2015 Legacy 360RB with 2013 CRV toad. Retired USAF.
DrJAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 04:36 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Blacknchromehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 273
located on the left side wall in the house battery area. Red lead goes to it and then to the off/on switch...new fuse was $7.00 so I ordered 2 extra to carry on board. I am charging the main battery's and installing a charger from the house to the Chassis...do not believe my dealer telling me there is a device to charge this way...
__________________
Blacknchromehd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 05:20 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
dmwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 22
See my previous post on "battery-boost-fail". There's a retrofit kit for that circuit.
You know, I thought my 2014 340KP didn't charge the chassis batteries when on shore power - because that's what I was told. But when I had it in the shop the mechanic told me the on-board system does charge the chassis batteries. He even pulled out the meter and showed me 14.1 volts reading across the batteries. Makes me wonder what's correct.
__________________
dmwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 06:13 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
DrJAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 189
As I commented in the post that'd dmwoody mentioned, my unit appears to have the update to the battery compartment. It certainly doesn't seem to match the drawing on the coach compartment door. However the drawing dmwoody provided shows a 300 amp fuse between the battery and the disconnect switch while my unit has a 250 amp fuse. So maybe my unit doesn't have the update. l had that 250 amp fuse blow last fall while at my dealer.


2015 Forest River Legacy RB. Soon to be 2013 Honda CRV toad. Retired USAF.
__________________
-DrJAG
2015 Legacy 360RB with 2013 CRV toad. Retired USAF.
DrJAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2016, 09:22 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
dmwoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 22
Here's a pic of the retrofit installed. Notice the 300A on the left wall and the two fuses in parallel on the back wall.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Coach_Batteries_New.jpg
Views:	103
Size:	415.9 KB
ID:	105054  
__________________
dmwoody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2016, 06:53 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
DrJAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 189
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1461279025.024884.jpg
Views:	95
Size:	61.7 KB
ID:	105674 Here is pic of mine. Looks like my dealer used a 250 amp fuse instead of 300 amps. I bought several spare 150, 250, and 300 amp fuses to have on hand.


2015 Legacy RB, 2013 CRV toad. Retired USAF. Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________
-DrJAG
2015 Legacy 360RB with 2013 CRV toad. Retired USAF.
DrJAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2016, 07:35 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
captnrick3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Santee, CA
Posts: 509
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrJAG View Post
Attachment 105674 Here is pic of mine. Looks like my dealer used a 250 amp fuse instead of 300 amps. I bought several spare 150, 250, and 300 amp fuses to have on hand.


2015 Legacy RB, 2013 CRV toad. Retired USAF. Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
Where did you find the spare fuses. I plan to get some to have on hand as well but have not looked for them yet.
__________________

__________________
2015 Legacy 340KP
2012 Wrangler Sport
captnrick3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
50 amp, fuse

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 AM.