Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2019, 12:49 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 13
6kw Generator only provides 30A ??

I am new here but hope other Legacy owners can help me understand why my 2018 Legacy 38C comes with a 6kw Onan generator (thats 50 amps usable power) but only provides my coach with a 30 amp connection. I understand that a true 50 am connection is 50 amps per leg and 100 amps total.
Why even put in a 6kw generator if your only planning to give me 30 amps of usable power from it? Is my coach wired wrong or am I missing something.
(With heavy AC use planned for this summer I am trying to figure out how to more easily run both AC usits which the generator has the capacity for but the connection to the RV wont allow.)
Thanks in advance!
__________________

NickC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 04:21 PM   #2
C8dnLegacy
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Seabrook Island, SC
Posts: 52
I donít know the technical answer but can tell you my 2015 Legacy runs everything in the coach on generator. I upgraded both a/c last year and everything is still fine with both AC running. I canít do that plugged into 30A, so it seems Iím getting more than 30A from the generator
__________________

__________________
2015 Legacy SR300 340KP
2015 Jeep Wrangler
cgpalmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 04:31 PM   #3
PPST Wannabe
 
kenandterry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Prince Edward County, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,219
We need some more information here...


What make and model of generator do you have?
Have you checked the breaker switches on the genny itself?
Has it worked properly before?
__________________

Ken and Terry
2010 Georgetown 330TS being pushed by our
2017 GMC Terrain toad (4 wheels down)
kenandterry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 04:44 PM   #4
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10,410
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickC View Post
but only provides my coach with a 30 amp connection.\!

How have you determined this?
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 05:08 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 13
Additional Information

The generator is an Onan Diesel 6kw and even shows 50amp on the tag but has a 30 amp 2 pole breaker.
The knowledge of only getting 30 amps to power the RV is from the information panel which shows a standard 30 amp connection while the generator is running.
This provides enough power to only run one AC unit at a time (15k BTU each) and the second one will fail to startup when the compressor kicks in. Each will then drop to just the fan and continue this until I turn one off.
I am getting a hard start kit in the mail this week to install on each of them to see if that will help but also trying to figure out why I am not able to use about 40% of generator's rated power.
NickC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 05:14 PM   #6
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10,410
If you have a 30A two pole breaker, you should have more than 30A.
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 05:17 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Daycruiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickC View Post
I am new here but hope other Legacy owners can help me understand why my 2018 Legacy 38C comes with a 6kw Onan generator (thats 50 amps usable power) but only provides my coach with a 30 amp connection. I understand that a true 50 am connection is 50 amps per leg and 100 amps total.
Why even put in a 6kw generator if your only planning to give me 30 amps of usable power from it? Is my coach wired wrong or am I missing something.
(With heavy AC use planned for this summer I am trying to figure out how to more easily run both AC usits which the generator has the capacity for but the connection to the RV wont allow.)
Thanks in advance!

The Specs on your MH call for a 50Amp Service cord and 50Amp Transfer switch. Not sure where you're seeing this 30Amp connection at.
__________________
44 Years RVing and no end in sight.
2018 Ram 3500 SB Limited, CC, 6.7/Aisin, 4X4, SRW. Comfort Ride Energy Absorbing Hitch.
2020 Cedar Creek Hathaway 34IK, Reese 19K Sidewinder PB.
Daycruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 05:18 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Bluepill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 1,573
If it has TWIN 30 amp breakers as you mention, that is TWO 30 amp circuits for a total of 6,000 watts (50 amps) combined. It should be wired to feed that power to two legs of a 50 amp (4 wire) connection for shore power.

What you get is 25 amps per "Leg" of the input power when on genny, not the 50 amps per leg that the "50 amp" service provides when connected to a 50 amp shore power circuit.

Yeah, it's a bit confusing, but you have a lot of power available with more than needed to run 2 A/C units.
__________________
2019 Coachmen Freedom Express 192RBS
2015 T12RBST Flagstaff Hardside

Disclaimer: The actual value of my "Two Cents" of advice varies just like a bitcoin.
Bluepill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 05:31 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Posts: 4,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluepill View Post
If it has TWIN 30 amp breakers as you mention, that is TWO 30 amp circuits for a total of 6,000 watts (50 amps) combined. It should be wired to feed that power to two legs of a 50 amp (4 wire) connection for shore power.

What you get is 25 amps per "Leg" of the input power when on genny, not the 50 amps per leg that the "50 amp" service provides when connected to a 50 amp shore power circuit.

Yeah, it's a bit confusing, but you have a lot of power available with more than needed to run 2 A/C units.
If the OP has a 2 pole 30 amp breaker as stated then it will not trip until over 30 amps is used on one leg.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS
Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Retired Master Electrician.

I know you believe that you understand what you think I said but I'm sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 06:05 PM   #10
Lacey's Spring, AL
 
formerFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Lacey's Spring, AL
Posts: 2,400
just like my Palazzo, with a 6kw quiet diesel Cummins Onan generator, you have a powerful generator for most all of your needs - 6,000kw is equal to approximately 50amps of output, plenty to do everything you wish.

Now, yes, the breaker on the front of the generator may only 'look' like a single 30amp breaker, but there is a 'twin' breaker attached to it, both feeding the 'sides' of your Main Electrical Panel....when one trips, the other trips with it.

No, 50amps is not as much as the '100amps' for rv park Shore Power 50amp service, since it is 240v with two sides, but it's still plenty to use while you are off-grid, or while driving, especially if you need to run both roof a/c units, and most everything else at the same time.
You won't need your battery charger while driving since the Alternator puts out charging to your House batteries, and you won't need both heat and air conditioning at the same time, nor will you need your Engine Block heater while driving, etc. Even when off-grid and parked, using your generator, you'll find it's plenty, plenty enough for everything you want to do.

There's almost no motorhome on the planet that has a 100amp generator, which would be a 12,000kw model, or higher - those are only for the 'big boys'. Some Prevost touring buses have 20,000kw generaters, which is more than 100amps, but they also can have TWO 50amp Shore Power plugs!


You've got plenty.
__________________

The Turners
'14 Thor Palazzo 33.3 diesel
KingTailgater2 Dish, 100w/5amps roof SOLAR, BlueOx, 100,000+mi since '14... US, Alaska, and Canada... from W.C. Georgia, then W. North Carolina, now Lacey's Spring, AL : )
formerFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 06:11 PM   #11
Lacey's Spring, AL
 
formerFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Lacey's Spring, AL
Posts: 2,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavie View Post
If the OP has a 2 pole 30 amp breaker as stated then it will not trip until over 30 amps is used on one leg.
right, which is how all 'double-pole' twin breakers work...

what adds to the confusion, though, is that there are typical 'size' breakers in the electrical world - 15amp, 20amp, 30amp, 40amp, 50amp, etc....
but there's few 25amp breakers, which is why your generator uses two 30amp breakers, even though each 'side' is somewhat allotted 25amps.
The good benefit, though, is that one side gets to use a little more than the 25amps without necessarily tripping the breakers, giving you a little more breathing room when using the generator on hot days when both a/c units are running and you want to use the microwave and other devices at the same time.
__________________

The Turners
'14 Thor Palazzo 33.3 diesel
KingTailgater2 Dish, 100w/5amps roof SOLAR, BlueOx, 100,000+mi since '14... US, Alaska, and Canada... from W.C. Georgia, then W. North Carolina, now Lacey's Spring, AL : )
formerFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 06:55 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickC View Post
I am new here but hope other Legacy owners can help me understand why my 2018 Legacy 38C comes with a 6kw Onan generator (thats 50 amps usable power) but only provides my coach with a 30 amp connection. I understand that a true 50 am connection is 50 amps per leg and 100 amps total.
Why even put in a 6kw generator if your only planning to give me 30 amps of usable power from it? Is my coach wired wrong or am I missing something.
(With heavy AC use planned for this summer I am trying to figure out how to more easily run both AC usits which the generator has the capacity for but the connection to the RV wont allow.)
Thanks in advance!
Well, shore power is a 2 phase 120 volt input (50 amps per phase = 100 amps) to the coach and the generator is a single phase 50 amp input to the coach. Therefore the total from the generator is 50 amps. The generator output is split into 2 30 amp legs(in parallel) and distributed so one leg feeds one coach buss and the other leg feeds the other coach buss. The generator is capable of running 2 15K air conditioners and still have 1K available power for other items. Don't think you will have an issue.
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 07:37 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Peoples Republik of Kalifornia
Posts: 5,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubbles View Post
Well, shore power is a 2 phase 120 volt input (50 amps per phase = 100 amps) to the coach and the generator is a single phase 50 amp input to the coach.
It's actually called 240V split phase.
__________________
2017 Coachmen 233RBS
2018 Ford F150 Lariat 3.5 Eco
"Common sense is not very common"
babock is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 08:44 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: payson, az
Posts: 2,208
we have an onan 5500 generator in a 50 amp 5th wheel with a residential refrigerator. the generator has two independent circuit breakers, one 30 amp and the other 20 amp. we have run 2 a/c's and anything else we wanted without tripping the generator circuit breakers. you should be more than fine!
__________________
2015 cardinal model 3825fl
2015 dodge ram 3500 dually
CHICKDOE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 09:11 PM   #15
Member
 
Mark S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 40
A 2 pole 50 amp breaker = 50amps. Not 100 amps. The amps listed is the total the breaker will handle. Breakers are rated for 80% of the load. A Good breaker will trip when it’s within that range. A 20 amp breaker good for 16 amps. That’s so you don’t overload your wiring. 120/240 volt single phase system. A 6k generator at 240 volts is good for 25 amps. Since your a/c units are 120 volt, the generator will handle both. Been in electrical trade for 38 years.
Mark S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 10:14 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark S. View Post
A 2 pole 50 amp breaker = 50amps. Not 100 amps. The amps listed is the total the breaker will handle. Breakers are rated for 80% of the load. A Good breaker will trip when itís within that range. A 20 amp breaker good for 16 amps. Thatís so you donít overload your wiring. 120/240 volt single phase system. A 6k generator at 240 volts is good for 25 amps. Since your a/c units are 120 volt, the generator will handle both. Been in electrical trade for 38 years.
Sorry, this is just wrong.
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 11:14 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Posts: 4,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubbles View Post
Sorry, this is just wrong.
Damn. I hate it when I have to agree with Bubbles
6KW Onan does not deliver 240 volts. It will run 2 15000 BTU A/C's with power to spare. It comes with a 2 pole 30 amp main breaker. Power is reduce by 3.5% for every 1000' in elevation.

Nothing on the website mentions 50 amps.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS
Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Retired Master Electrician.

I know you believe that you understand what you think I said but I'm sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 11:24 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,291
If a breaker is tripping at 80% of rated amperage it is bad. I believe breaker manufacturers test to a minimum of 135% of rated amperage for a given time interval.
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 11:53 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Peoples Republik of Kalifornia
Posts: 5,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavie View Post
Nothing on the website mentions 50 amps.

Page 31 of the manual
https://www.electricgeneratorsdirect...QD_6_8_Man.pdf


the 50A output of the generator feeds the 2 pole 30A breaker.
__________________
2017 Coachmen 233RBS
2018 Ford F150 Lariat 3.5 Eco
"Common sense is not very common"
babock is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 08:27 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by babock View Post
It's actually called 240V split phase.
Yes, but then an explanation of split phase would have to follow. I was thinking KISS is easier for the OP to understand.
__________________

bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 PM.


×