Old 04-20-2018, 01:46 PM   #1

Residential Refer- Does electric auto switch?

I have been looking around the forums and canít seem to happen up on an answer so here I am with a mouthful of Gimme and a hand full of Thank ye kindly.

Does the electrical supply switch automatically to the inverter when you are off gen and off shore power or is there a switch of some sort that I have missed?

Yes, I am a NOOB - 1st motorhome

2018 Forest River Legacy.

DTordoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 01:58 PM   #2

As far as Iíve been able to tell, you have to push the inverter button on the magnum power panel on the left. Some people leave the inverter on all the time, but my last coach had weak house batteries so I didnít use the inverter as much.

When we roll we almost always start the generator and donít turn it off much until we plug in somewhere.

Iíll play with mine and see how it behaves...

TKN 516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 07:00 PM   #3

typically a residential refrigerator will come with an inverter. there may be a small transfer switch (not a generator transfer switch) to switch power from shore (or generator) power to inverter power when shore or generator power is not present. some inverters actually have this transfer switch built into them internally. however, the inverter must be on for this to happen. there is normally a remote switch that can be used to power the inverter on or off. there is much discussion and personal preferences about whether to leave the inverter on all the time (other than in storage) or to turn it off when on shore power.
Old 04-21-2018, 07:47 AM   #4