Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2015, 09:03 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
lrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Massachuetts
Posts: 142
Satellite Connection

The 48" measurement can really be anywhere along that line, as the wires are in a channel, but 48" is roughly where the end is. They use a 2 1/2" hole saw at the plant...it should be big enough that you can find the end of the wires without too much trouble, but still small enough that the base of the receiver will still cover it.
__________________

__________________
2014 Legacy SR300, 340BH
Toad: 2011 GMC Acadia
-------------------------------------
" On the go to see something amazing"
- Psalm 107:23-24
lrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 04:51 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
captnrick3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Santee, CA
Posts: 509
12V source

Does anyone know if FR provided a 12V source as well as the coax to the roof sat. location? Most Direct TV units require 12V. Last thing I want to do is run wires inside my motorhome if I can help it.
__________________

__________________
2015 Legacy 340KP
2012 Wrangler Sport
captnrick3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 09:46 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
lrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Massachuetts
Posts: 142
I don't think there is. That is why I went with a King Dome. You don't need a supplemental power source. King Dome provides power to the dish through the coaxial. I also have Directv and it works great.
__________________
2014 Legacy SR300, 340BH
Toad: 2011 GMC Acadia
-------------------------------------
" On the go to see something amazing"
- Psalm 107:23-24
lrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 09:07 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
lrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Massachuetts
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubbles View Post
OK then. I have had a few units that had sat prep and all of them had an indicator of some sort on the roof as to where the cable was stowed. Maybe there is no sat prep as advertised or for some reason someone dropped the ball with a stamp. Hope you find it if it exists. To bad you can't find a picture of a Legacy with a dome installed. Good luck.

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1424527505.112164.jpg
Views:	155
Size:	96.0 KB
ID:	69989
Here is a picture of my rig with the King Dome installed
__________________
2014 Legacy SR300, 340BH
Toad: 2011 GMC Acadia
-------------------------------------
" On the go to see something amazing"
- Psalm 107:23-24
lrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 10:33 AM   #15
Member
 
dndnva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 99
Is that King Dome an In-motion dome? I am looking at the Winegard Mission In-Motion for my Legacy.
__________________
2016 Legacy SR340 KP (340HP, 2500 Allison)
Toad: 2013 Wrangler Unlimited
dndnva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 10:52 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
psw757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by dndnva View Post
Is that King Dome an In-motion dome? I am looking at the Winegard Mission In-Motion for my Legacy.

We have the Winegard Roadtrip Mission in - motion on ours and has worked like a champ with a dish network receiver so far. Smaller profile and black like all the other items on our roof.

I think it really depends if your using dish or direct as some work better with each provider.
__________________
psw757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 01:52 PM   #17
Member
 
dndnva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 99
We have Directv and had a Mission stationary dome on the Tiffin. Although we never had HD when on the SAT, sticking with Directv. We really want In-motion this time but I've heard some people say that when stationary, settled at the campsite, the sat searches a lot and blinks in and out. Have you seen that with yours?
__________________
2016 Legacy SR340 KP (340HP, 2500 Allison)
Toad: 2013 Wrangler Unlimited
dndnva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 02:08 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
psw757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by dndnva View Post
We have Directv and had a Mission stationary dome on the Tiffin. Although we never had HD when on the SAT, sticking with Directv. We really want In-motion this time but I've heard some people say that when stationary, settled at the campsite, the sat searches a lot and blinks in and out. Have you seen that with yours?
Can't say that i have noticed that. Once it is locked on it does well. Even if you momentarily lose picture going through say a tunnel, it comes back quickly.

If you turn the dome on before the dish box it does seem to search a little longer but if you have the receiver on first and then hit the green winegard switch it is quicker.

We kept dish because we like their pay as you go hd service. We don't use the coach dec-mar so I don't see any reason to continue to pay like direct makes you. Saves us about $500 a year.
__________________
psw757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 02:23 PM   #19
Member
 
dndnva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 99
Good to hear it stays dialed in while you are stationary. We considered the pay as you go with DISH but since we already have Directv at home, and use an extra receiver seldom used in our basement, it's free for us. Did Camping World install your dome? I looked into it and it is only 149 to install it since we are Good Sam members.
__________________
2016 Legacy SR340 KP (340HP, 2500 Allison)
Toad: 2013 Wrangler Unlimited
dndnva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 02:30 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
psw757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by dndnva View Post
Good to hear it stays dialed in while you are stationary. We considered the pay as you go with DISH but since we already have Directv at home, and use an extra receiver seldom used in our basement, it's free for us. Did Camping World install your dome? I looked into it and it is only 149 to install it since we are Good Sam members.
We had our selling dealer install it before we took delivery, it wasn't camping world. $149 sounds like a great price considering most dealers in my area charge $100 for any kind of labor.
__________________

__________________
psw757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
satellite

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 PM.