Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-12-2017, 09:54 PM   #1

2017 Wolf Pup 16bhs

Hi I am new to the forum and am waiting to pick up our 2017 wolf pup 16bhs...its in...we toured it...but there is storm coming. Anyway...I was actually looking to this forum for issues about axles on the 16 pups. I am an engineer and the 3500 lb axle scares the heck out of me. I understand the reasoning for using the small capacity axle(cost and towing market sizing) but i feel that is too close to the operating weights for these TT. Off road sites don't help the situation. I am looking for information to change mine out as soon as I get it home to 5200 lb. Has anyone tried that before? I have some more questions regarding the converter it comes with.....does it actual charge the battery and if so is it a good quality charger for a deep cycle battery?
Looking forward to enjoying everyones input, ideas and the new pup.
bigred123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2017, 06:49 AM   #2

Just be mindfull of the weight of gear you throw into it and you will keep the axle in spec. I would be much more worried about the tires then the axle.

I've had no issues with charging or axles on mine. I try and load heavy items into the back of the tow vehicle rather then the trailer. I would also not use a cargo rack on the rear of the trailer for the same reason.

If you can't get past the single axle then look to buy a small trailer with double axles for redundancy and to eliminate a single point of failure.
1201alarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2017, 06:40 PM   #3