Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-21-2018, 08:53 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 13
Cable TV vs Antenna

I have a 2019 26DBH and the campground where weíre staying has cable TV. I connected the cable to the camper but the TV still only finds OTA stations. Do I need to do something different?
__________________

JSLayton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2018, 09:03 AM   #2
PPST Wannabe
 
kenandterry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Prince Edward County, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,156
Usually there is another switch box somewhere in your rig.....select between antenna/cable/satellite

Then from the menu of the TV, make sure the TV itself is looking for cable input channels, AND, turn off the antenna booster switch. Only use that for antenna service.
__________________

__________________

Ken and Terry
2010 Georgetown 330TS being pushed by our
2017 GMC Terrain toad (4 wheels down)
kenandterry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2018, 09:27 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 13
I turned off the booster, still no channels found. Trying a different input now
JSLayton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2018, 09:31 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 512
Some RVs have two inputs on the outside of the rig. One would be for cable and one for satellite. Make sure you are using the correct input. Next find and turn off the booster. Set you TV to cable and do a scan. Might have to pull of some face plates and check for loose or poorly crimped connectors.
__________________
DYNAMAX 2016 FORCE HD
houstonstroker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2018, 09:44 AM   #5
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10,308
Have you selected cable VS OTA?
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2018, 09:46 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
SeaDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Idaho
Posts: 6,247
X2 what Flybob said select it on the menu of your tV
__________________
Retired Navy
Jake my sidekick (yellow Lab)
2017 RAM 2500 CC 4X4 Cummins Diesel
2016 Flagstaff 26 FKWS
AF&AM & El Korah Shrine of Idaho
SeaDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2018, 12:27 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 13
I have a TCL 29Ē Roku TV. It searches for OTA channels first and then cable channels. If I turn off the booster and select skip when finding OTA then it searches for cable channels for about 3 or 4 minutes and then says it didnít find any. Considering I purchased this camper 3 weeks ago and itís under warranty then Iíll let them check for loose connections
JSLayton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2018, 12:41 PM   #8
Denver To Yuma In 90 Days
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Yuma, Arizona
Posts: 3,882
If you are getting OTA channels you are better off using those as you'll get HD where as the park cable you'll only get an SD picture.

Also, try switching the park cable to the SAT input on the outside of your RV...

Mine was wired backwards from the factory...and that was how mine was!

Rather than to try and rewire everything I just pulled the faceplate off of the wall inside and flipped it to match the labels stuck on the wall next to it.

JohnD10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2018, 12:50 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 13
Outside of mine only has one cable connection
JSLayton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2018, 12:51 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 403
Both of my 5th wheels had the cable and sat connections labeled backwards. Tech told me this is common. Try switching them. Also, some newer trailers don't have the switch box, just a little button on the wall plate where the TV coax plugs into the wall. That button turns on and off the antenna power booster which must be off when using cable.
__________________
DrLewie
Flemington, NJ
Former: 2007 Cardinal 30W LE
Now:2018 Arctic Fox 27-5L
2008 Ford F-250 Long Bed Diesel
Total of 28 Months on the Road Since 2008
DrLewie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2018, 03:14 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Cedar Creek Lake, TX
Posts: 2,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSLayton View Post
I have a 2019 26DBH and the campground where weíre staying has cable TV. I connected the cable to the camper but the TV still only finds OTA stations. Do I need to do something different?
Did you do a channel scan after changing?
__________________
Cedar Creek Lake, Texas
2017 Wildwood 27 RLSS
2016 Ram 5.7L crewcab, 8 speed transmission
CedarCreekWoody is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2018, 04:08 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 13
I did do a scan after changing. Still no channels. Tried another connection one campsite over that was good, still nothing. Iím sure itís a loose connection
JSLayton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2018, 04:31 PM   #13
Denver To Yuma In 90 Days
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Yuma, Arizona
Posts: 3,882
Try hooking your TV directly to the coax at your pedestal to be sure there is signal coming from there.

Also, some parks, including some KOA's, will require you to sign out a cable box from the office to get cable, or it may need to be switched on at the office.
JohnD10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2018, 11:41 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 13
Problem ended up being a bad coax cable. New cable fixed the problem
JSLayton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2018, 12:12 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Villagerjjm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 410
First, check to make sure you are getting a signal from the post. Usually someone from the campground office will check the signal if you request it. If there is a signal and your television is not detecting stations, you may have a defective tuner in your television. The Furrion television that came with my 2018 Rockwood was defective and Furrion replaced it. It works fine now.
Villagerjjm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2018, 09:29 AM   #16
Happy Camper
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Near Selma, Alabama
Posts: 142
You may have to go to the TV "input" menu to let it auto search available cable or OTA signals. May take a few minuets but I have to do mine anytime I set up at a new location. No big deal but it works for me.
Johntgif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2018, 02:11 PM   #17
Site Team
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 19,535
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johntgif View Post
You may have to go to the TV "input" menu to let it auto search available cable or OTA signals. May take a few minuets but I have to do mine anytime I set up at a new location. No big deal but it works for me.
The OP fixed the problem, 2 posts up from yours.
__________________

__________________
Dan-Retired California Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
antenna, cable

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 PM.


×