Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2012, 04:10 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 80
Coax hookup on camper

Hello all. I own a 2005 Cherokee 27L. More then once I have stayed at campgrounds that have full hookups including cable. I have tried hooking cable up at the campgrounds but have never gotten the TV to work inside the camper. I just get a snowy picture. I purchased the camper used and don't have any instruction manual on how to set this up to work properly.

There are two cable hookups outside my camper. I tried attaching the coax cable to one then the other and it made no difference. The TV I am using in the camper is a digital one.

I have satilite TV at home. Do I need to bring a converter box with me camping? I ask because when I use to have cable at home the TV still worked without the converter box. I just didn't get any of the premium channels.

Does my Audio system in the camper need to be turned to a certain setting (Concertone).

Does the wall booster swicth need to be on or off?

Like I said without my instruction manual I am guessing here.

Thank you
__________________

__________________
kjoh75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 04:46 PM   #2
Site Team
 
Terier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 9,616
I'm not the best person to answer questions on this topic but I will try. The wall booster switch should be off if the cg has cable tv. I have a short coax cable that is connected to the wall inside the trailer running to the TV set.
__________________

__________________
Great choice for "Living within my means" and camping for one...

2011 Salem Cruise Lite 20RBXL & 2011 Toyota Tundra Dbl Cab
Camping History: 45 Trips / 133 Nights / 3736 Miles
FRF Social Group: Campers of the West
Terier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 06:26 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
hockeytownmom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: South Lyon, MI
Posts: 1,124
We tried to use it on our last vacation in Dec. Turned out ours is backwards on the outside of the camper, so the one labeled "cable" doesn't work, but the second jack does.
__________________
Kristina & Family
2015 Sunseeker 3170ds
'13 Honda Pilot -Kar Kaddy 3

Nights camped in 2011/36, 2012/9, 2013/24, 2014/27; 2015/50 2016: 34
hockeytownmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 06:48 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 80
Coax Hookup

Like I said there where 2 outside cable connection. Neither one had any markings on it (Cable "In" or "Out"?). Thats why I tried both but still wasn't getting any picture or sound. The TV itself was hooked to the same coax hookup on the inside wall that brought in the roof antenna signal.

I can't remember if I tried to see if it worked with the booster switch off. Why would that make a difference? Does it somehow disconnect the roof antenna and switch it to the side coax coonection?

Anyone else have suggestions? Camping season (for me at least) is only a few months away. I live in Minnesota.
__________________
kjoh75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 06:49 PM   #5
Lottery Non-Winner
 
Ovair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 437
Generally speaking, the booster should be turned off if you are watching cable or sat. Your system could be different, but most are that way.
On the TV, make sure you go into the TV setup menu and tell it you want to tune to "CABLE" instead of "ANTENNA". Don't forget to run a channel scan so the tv will assign channel numbers to those it finds on the cable.
__________________

2011 Georgetown 337
2009 HD FLHTCU
2007 HD FXSTC
Ovair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 06:55 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ovair View Post
Generally speaking, the booster should be turned off if you are watching cable or sat. Your system could be different, but most are that way.
On the TV, make sure you go into the TV setup menu and tell it you want to tune to "CABLE" instead of "ANTENNA". Don't forget to run a channel scan so the tv will assign channel numbers to those it finds on the cable.
Thanks I will try that too. Is a converter box needed?
__________________
kjoh75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 07:17 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
jim44646's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Massillon. Ohio
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjoh75 View Post
Thanks I will try that too. Is a converter box needed?
Nope
__________________
jim44646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 07:19 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
caper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,973
No converter box needed but as stated the tv must be set to cable and not antenna. The power switch needs to be turned off. When the switch is on it is boosting the antenna and is bypassing the cable side of the system.
__________________
Terry and Janet
2008 3001W Windjammer
2007 Ford F150
caper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 07:25 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 80
WOW, Thank you. I can hardly wait until camping season begins.
__________________

__________________
kjoh75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21 AM.