Old 03-20-2017, 03:39 PM   #1

Electric Water Heater in 2017 Cherokee 274DBH

I am new to the camping world and have a question that has been answered over and over, I'm sure! We bought our new 2017 Cherokee 274DBH in February. The first two times we took it out, we had no issues with the electric water heater. When we packed up camp the second trip, I forgot to turn the outside heater switch to the off position (I did remember the first time). So, when we setup the 3rd time, the switch was already in the on position for electric. My son tried to take a shower and of course no hot water came on. Then I realized I never turned on the heater switch inside the camper. I turned that on. When he got out of the shower, he said it still wasn't hot. I know you can burn up the element if there's no water in the tank when you start it. What I can't wrap my head around is that there was obviously water in the tank the first two times we camped because it was in electric mode and we had hot water. So what was different the 3rd time, even though the outside switch was never turned off (and my son ran the hot water faucet in the shower before I turned the inside heater switch on)?

Old 03-20-2017, 03:41 PM   #2
Site Team

Did you drain the water heater and/or open the low point drains in between that 2nd and 3rd trip? Have you messed with the winterizaition/bypass valves by chance either?

EDIT: How many switches to the water heater do you have INSIDE the RV. I'm not asking about the electric switch on the outside face of the water heater....just inside switches. The reason I'm asking is I'm trying to ascertain which model of Suburban water heater you have, either the SWDE or SWDEL. The number of inside switches will answer that for me.

This thread may help too

Suburban's electric switch and much more

I've invented a new word. "Plagiarism"
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 03:56 PM   #3