Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-16-2015, 05:25 PM   #1

Living in covered (high metal carport) travel trailer??

New here, sorry if this has been asked before or just a dumb question. I have been living in a fifth wheel for 2 years now ever since Hurricane Isaac took my house. And the ability to rebuild just is not there. The fifth wheel I purchased was very used and worn, but glad I had something to put over my head. I've been shopping for a new travel trailer and I really like the Cherokee destination models. But living in a travel trailer full time I've learned just how much they can deteriorate. My question is, can I purchase one of those very high metal carports and park the trailer under it and still "run" it. I have scoured the internet and have come up with nothing. Again like I said, new to this, and full time rv living so I'm still learning all the ins and outs. Thanks!!!!
jennileann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 05:43 PM   #2

I would see no reason why you couldn't do so. My one area of concern would be the ambient temp of the air that would gather between the top of the trailer and the carport/metal cover. The metal cover could create a radiant heating effect under the cover. The would be the fresh air intake source. The AC is only designed to lower the incoming air a set number of degrees.

I guess if there was a enough height and air flow between the RV and the Metal cover you may be ok.

Past RVs: National Pacifica 40', Kenworth T300 Toterhome, Jayco Class C 32'. American Eagle 40',
American Eagle 40', Bounder 38' tag axle
jonrjen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 06:02 PM   #3

That's what I was concerned about with the AC units. just was trying to think of a way to better protect the travel trailer and extend its life cause the thought of losing another house scares me to death.