Old 12-17-2008, 10:29 PM   #1
Question Noob - Cherokee 27BH

OK Gang here goes. I've been on the board all day scoping things out (Shush, don't tell the boss) and y'all look like a good crowd so I hope you can give me some guidance.

I'm transferring up to Pope AFB, NC from Keesler AFB, MS late Jan. Being as it will be in the middle of the school year, kids activities, and the housing market, the plan is to drag a TT up there and park it in the Ft. Bragg Fam Camp. Now I have no experience to speak of with campers unless you count those days as a wee youngster.

For 4 or 5 months it'll just be me, then when the familiy gets up there we plan on using the TT for occasional long weekend outing down to the beach, or up to the mountains. We've decided we want a bunkhouse for the kids (4&7), some sort of slide, and a "master suite" up front that can be closed off from the rest of the trailer. As I plan on using the kitchen while I'm alone, I want a decent sized one. I've been shopping around and I'm digging on the Puma brand, but can't find one right priced ($14-$16K). Salem is a brand the local dealer carries, but... So after more surfing and phone calls, I think I have found what I want - a 2009 Cherokee 27BH and the dealer is asking $15,900.

I like the floorplan, with the exception of the sink outside the bathroon (easily fized with a curtain), no nightstands, and it lacks a oven (toaster oven as a substitute?). Major pluses seem to be lots of floor space with the big slider, a full bunk below, decent sized kitchen area, and while not light weight, able to be pulled by my Nissan Titan without maxing it out (Don't have the big tow package, but the book says 7,200lbs). It seems a pretty basic setup without any options, but it also seems to have all that's required. I'm sure I'll upgrade some stuff as I go like most folks do.