Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-01-2019, 09:43 PM   #1

so new awning ripped...now what?

On first trip the wife noted that the solar (15ft black power) awning was ripped where it meets the seem (rail?) on the camper. May be an inch or two. Tried not to use it but the sun was simply too hot. By the time the trip was over it's about 4-5 inches now.

1. this trailer is 2 weeks old
2. I've been camping for 10+ years (2 trailers) and never had a rip or damage
3. No major wind...nothing more then the shocks could handle. Always close when not at campground.

1. Is dealer going to believe me? I have a list of dozen things they need to fix.
2. If they don't want is the fix process? Does it come down just to tape or is it cut back a couple inches and reattached?

EDIT: Sorry the photo is upside down. Stupid forum doesn't like iMac photos I think.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	awning.jpg
Views:	206
Size:	356.2 KB
ID:	208768  
carboncow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2019, 09:50 PM   #2

so new awning ripped...now what?

I know it won’t help, but at least it’s an easy fix. My first assumption is the stitch over stressed the fabric(my definition of holes to big/too close together/wrong thread or something.). Is it a Solair awning? I would prolly get the model and serial number and contact them myself. That way when you go to the dealer you will already know what they say....and if needed can pass that info to the less informed.
born in Texas.... live in Arkansas
Iwannacamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2019, 09:54 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iwannacamp View Post