Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-22-2018, 10:42 AM   #1

Towing my new TT

Finally got to get out in our "new to us" 2017 Grey Wolf 26DBH. We traveled about 60 miles to the campground, highway and city driving. I am pulling with a 2016 Ford Expedition EL and am using a Husky Centerline hitch. For the most part, everything went good. I was able to travel at 65 mph but noticed once I got over 55, the trailer felt like it was starting to float??? It wandered in the lane and I was able to control it but still don't think it's right.

I am also on the Ford Expedition forums and am gaining a lot of knowledge on the capabilities of my TV. The Expy forum has a trailer weights calculator that I have yet to use but I will as soon as I can get the trailer on the scale.

Sorry, I know I didn't add a lot of info regarding specifics on the TT or TV since I am still very new to pulling something this big. Just wanted to get my thoughts out there because I want this to work. I have a lot of future plans to see the county with my family!
Vankonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 10:47 AM   #2
Always Learning

The other forum is right, you need to start with weighing the trailer:
How to Weigh a Travel Trailer | Learn To RV

You can use this tool to "crunch the numbers":
Actual Weights - Travel Trailer/Bumper Pull Weights from CAT Scales - Towing Planner

As well, you need to break out the instruction manual for the Husky Centerline hitch and re-set it up. Even if the dealer did it, they suck at it. Plus, you'll need to know because your camper weights will change as you load it up in the future.

Get, read, and understand that manual, head to a scale for an afternoon, and re-work it until your weights are right (i.e. your at 12-13% on tongue weight and you've pushed the weight back to the front wheels of your Expedition).
Old 10-22-2018, 11:17 AM   #3
Multi-Slacker