Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-27-2018, 11:45 PM   #1

Winterizing question...

Seems sad to already be asking this, but I live in WI so in a couple months camping is over[emoji22] Anyway, I'm a new TT owner (Wolf Pup 16bhs Limited) and since the water pump doesn't have any bypass to suck in Antifreeze I was thinking when I winterize I would use a compressor (low psi) to blow out the water in the lines and then put Antifreeze in the freshwater tank and use the pump to fill the lines to the fixtures. Is this crazy? Is there a reason to not do this besides wasting some antifreeze? Like I said I'm new to this so all feedback is good...
johnsamz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2018, 11:56 PM   #2

Best to purchase the winterizing kit. I think it was around $10-$20 and took 5 minutes to install.

I would never fill your fresh water tank with antifreeze, it will take a lot of antifreeze then a lot water and flushing to get that taste out of the tank next season.
K2Kevin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2018, 12:04 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by K2Kevin View Post
Best to purchase the winterizing kit. I think it was around $10-$20 and took 5 minutes to install.

I would never fill your fresh water tank with antifreeze, it will take a lot of antifreeze then a lot water and flushing to get that taste out of the tank next season.
Are you talking about a kit that adds a valve and tube to the pump so you can pull in Antifreeze that way or a kit that uses a hand pump via the city water input?
Old 08-28-2018, 01:13 AM   #4
Just a member