Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-24-2019, 10:19 AM   #1

Accuracy of LED level indicators

My 2018 REV is equipped with led indicators for battery, grey, black tank, water and propane. When black tank is empty, indicator shows full, when propane indicator shows empty, the most propane that can be pumped is 7 gallons and the capacity is 12.2 gallons. Has anyone else experienced this issue?
Richard L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2019, 10:45 AM   #2

I am new to the camper community, but, I have heard these indicators are not accurate for very long. The sensors become corroded or dirty, or even blocked, and have to be cleaned or replaced.
Old 02-24-2019, 10:47 AM   #3
Kanadian Kamper

The topic of the accuracy of these indicators has been discussed since the beginning of the RV craze.

They’re pretty to look at, but don’t bet everything on their true status. Only experience and time will let you know how you’re set.

Ken and Terry
2018 Sunseeker 2430S-CD, nicely modified and carried by a 2017 Ford E450 Sport
Former Georgetown 330TS owner for 10 years with more mods than I can count, pushed by our 2017 GMC Terrain
kenandterry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2019, 10:55 AM   #4

you can trust indicators about as much as an rv sales person.
Kimber45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2019, 11:04 AM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard L View Post
My 2018 REV is equipped with led indicators for battery, grey, black tank, water and propane. When black tank is empty, indicator shows full, when propane indicator shows empty, the most propane that can be pumped is 7 gallons and the capacity is 12.2 gallons. Has anyone else experienced this issue?