Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2018, 01:22 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 54
Aquahot cabin heating

We have a 2017 DX3 with Aquahot. It was down in the low 30's last night so I turned on the Aquagot for heating and noticed something that might be "as designed" but wanted to check with the forum. After some testing I figured out that I HAVE to have the bedroom thermostat on (with furnace enabled of course) for the cabin to get aquahot heat as well as bedroom. So:



Just cabin on bed room off - cabin cosy turns on, but the air in the floor vents stays cold.


Just bedroom on, cabin off - cosy kicks on and the bedroom get nice and toasty hot warm out of the floor vents.


Both Bedroom and Cabin on - Nice hot air out of all vents.



It seems you have to have the bedroom furnace on as well as the cabin one to get heat in cabin. Is that as designed?
__________________

Mitchmedford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 04:29 PM   #2
GM
 
bclemens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 10,002
As designed? sort of. There was some confusion I think before my time on what Aquahot was calling for (for install) and how they audited. I consider "zones" to be bedroom and living room. Aquahot calls zones, Zone 1 pump and Zone 2 pump. They don't want coolant lines running back and forth, so Aquahot wanted Zone 1, down one side and Zone 2 down the other side. But that is really for the pump...so I think they ran Zone 1 pump down one side and wired the T-stat that way as well. So early in life I think it was running side to side instead of LR-BR.
__________________

__________________
Please READ the entire thread before posting to keep comments relevant.
Also, please post questions as a "New Thread" (not private message) so that others can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only. Owners manuals are available online and via iPhone/Android Apps.https://www.dynamaxcorp.com/OnlineManual.aspx
bclemens is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 04:41 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 54
OK, so if I am understanding and that is usually a big if, zone 1 (bedroom) T-stat is the one that actually controls the pump as wellas the zone 1 cosy. I guess the Zone 2 (living room) T-stat must be wired to something in the Aquahot system because it does kick on the cozy, but not the pump and so no heat reaches the cosy? If you wanted to heat just LR, then the T-stat would also need to be wired to control the pump?
Mitchmedford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 04:43 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 54
Oh, also I am assuming there is a single pump for everything. Is that correct?
Mitchmedford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 04:52 PM   #5
GM
 
bclemens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 10,002
Sort of. I'm not sure which zone is which...but Let's assume Zone 1 Pump is connected to the Bedroom Thermostat, but it might actually be wired to the bedroom zone, not the living room, but the pump run goes up one whole side (not just the bedroom).

Zone 2 (Living room) controls the other zone pump, but is only wired to the LR cozy.

Also, make sure you are not on just electric. It does take time for the boiler fluid to heat up and electric is really poor at doing that.

This goes through all the installation side of things.
__________________
Please READ the entire thread before posting to keep comments relevant.
Also, please post questions as a "New Thread" (not private message) so that others can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only. Owners manuals are available online and via iPhone/Android Apps.https://www.dynamaxcorp.com/OnlineManual.aspx
bclemens is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 04:57 PM   #6
GM
 
bclemens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 10,002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitchmedford View Post
Oh, also I am assuming there is a single pump for everything. Is that correct?
Not sure on pumps...I just know there are two zone outlets for the boiler lines.
__________________
Please READ the entire thread before posting to keep comments relevant.
Also, please post questions as a "New Thread" (not private message) so that others can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only. Owners manuals are available online and via iPhone/Android Apps.https://www.dynamaxcorp.com/OnlineManual.aspx
bclemens is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 05:01 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 54
Yes, I am not on electric only. It sounds like something I am going to have to get a professional to sort out. I assume I should be able to just heat the living room without having to heat the bedroom as well. I wonder if this might explain why I have to use the electric fireplace to get the living room up to 70 when it is 40 outside, but the bedroom is toasty. Sounds like one pump is heating everything and since I can't "not" heat the bedroom, the living room isn't getting all the heat it normally could??
Mitchmedford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 05:04 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 54
If there are two outlets, there would have to be two pumps I should think.
Mitchmedford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 05:10 PM   #9
GM
 
bclemens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 10,002
If you are on electric that is part of the issue. Please note page 9 of the owners manual

"Electric– The electric element is the Aqua-Hot’s secondary heat source and can be used when plugged into shore power. The electric element provides heat when moderate temperatures exist (50įF or higher) and/or when there is a low demand for hot water. It can be activated by turning the electric switch in the ON posi- tion. Reference Figure 1 on following page.

You can turn the T-stat in the bedroom low and still probably be ok. But, it is designed to have both T-stats operating. There are water lines etc all through the coach so we do not plan on leaving any areas un-heated.
__________________
Please READ the entire thread before posting to keep comments relevant.
Also, please post questions as a "New Thread" (not private message) so that others can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only. Owners manuals are available online and via iPhone/Android Apps.https://www.dynamaxcorp.com/OnlineManual.aspx
bclemens is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 05:11 PM   #10
GM
 
bclemens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 10,002
Page 6 of the installation manual. looks like there are (2)

Zone Heat Circulation Pump specifications .................................................. .................................................. (2) 12 Volt-DC/21 watts each
__________________

__________________
Please READ the entire thread before posting to keep comments relevant.
Also, please post questions as a "New Thread" (not private message) so that others can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only. Owners manuals are available online and via iPhone/Android Apps.https://www.dynamaxcorp.com/OnlineManual.aspx
bclemens is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
heating

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 PM.