Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2016, 11:20 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
bob dirt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by TURBS View Post
Ok well I didn't know what you had and was wondering.

3 causes of freeze up

1) not enough air flow or restricted air flow. I.e. To many vents shut off or a blockage in the ducting.
2) frost sensor inoperable or fallen off.
3) unit is low on refrigerant.


2008 2500hd Duramax
2015 Columbus 320RS
2016 nights camped "0"
2015 nights camped "34"
4) restriction in refrigerant line
5) thermostat not shutting off compressor

sounds to me like your stat is keeping compressor on too long bringing the evap temp below freezing
__________________

__________________
2016 Forester 2401WS MBS
Life is short...eat the cookie
bob dirt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2016, 11:26 AM   #12
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob dirt View Post
4) restriction in refrigerant line
5) thermostat not shutting off compressor

sounds to me like your stat is keeping compressor on too long bringing the evap temp below freezing


Thanks Bob
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2016, 11:30 AM   #13
GM
 
bclemens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 7,093
Could be location of remote sensor.

If I read your pictures correctly...the t-stat says 74, but in fact the room is 68? The T-stat is not really reading the temps in most cases because we put it behind a door. There is a little plastic "eye" looking thing. Either that is malfunctioning or something is keeping it artificially heated.
__________________
PLEASE do not send questions via Private Message. Post questions in the forum as a new thread so that other users can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only. Our owners manuals are available online and via iPhone/Android Apps. http://www.dynamaxcorp.com/OnlineManual.aspx
bclemens is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2016, 01:20 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 122
AC freezing

While any AC can freeze up under the right conditions I am concerned that your freezing unit may not be charged properly since your back one is working fine under the same conditions. Usually happens when the charge gets a little low due to a pin hole somewhere in the system but I hope I'm wrong since they can be very hard to locate.
__________________
DocRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2016, 01:41 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by bclemens View Post
Could be location of remote sensor.

If I read your pictures correctly...the t-stat says 74, but in fact the room is 68? The T-stat is not really reading the temps in most cases because we put it behind a door. There is a little plastic "eye" looking thing. Either that is malfunctioning or something is keeping it artificially heated.
2X any heat source that may influence the remote sensor (television, coffee pot, computer monitor ext) anything that can produce heat. what is the wall temp remote temp sensor mounted to? Remote temp sensor battery's are in good shape if sensor has them? Dose the coil freeze up with out door air temps above 75-80 deg? Or at night? Air filter is clean Cooling coil is clean? fan speed is on high or low? Air flow is very important for the air conditioner to function properly. Low room air temps of 65-68 deg will lead to coil freeze ups as the refrigerant temp inside the cooling coil will or may drop below freezing with this cold of air temp entering the cooling coil. AC units are designed to operate at room air temps of 72-75 deg.

Hope This Helps Tim
__________________
TimVWulp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2016, 06:44 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
AWF1945's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by bclemens View Post
Could be location of remote sensor.

If I read your pictures correctly...the t-stat says 74, but in fact the room is 68? The T-stat is not really reading the temps in most cases because we put it behind a door. There is a little plastic "eye" looking thing. Either that is malfunctioning or something is keeping it artificially heated.
The third picture is the small sensor located near the thermostat. You are correct the thermostat is enclosed and ubable to correctly diaplay inside temp. I left the door open today and it gas worked fine.

Its not been as hot today but has cycled fine. Both output temps of both ac units are the same. I don't believe there's a freon leak. I believe the problem lies within the thermostat.

Yes, I did run fan on high today, yes the filters are clean, thanks for the replies.
__________________
Slim, RVing 30 plus years
2015 Dynamax DX3 37 RB
AWF1945 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2016, 06:53 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
AWF1945's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 404
I'm going to give the sensor the hair dryer test to start compressor. It should within minutes equalize and shut off.
__________________
Slim, RVing 30 plus years
2015 Dynamax DX3 37 RB
AWF1945 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2016, 07:29 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
AWF1945's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 404
Okay heres what I believe is happening. The hair dryer test confirms the senor is working as it should. Notice in the picture the location of the sensor and the thermostat. When taking temperatures with my temp gun I noticed the interior bulkhead temp was 86. That sensor is giving a false reading due to its location. I took several readings today. When that thermostat door is closed and the sun is shining on that outter wall the sensor temp was 7-10 higher than actual room temp.. thus AC confused and not cycling as it should.

Now with all that said. I opened thermostat door, left it opened all day... once the sun was no longer on that wall I had consistent readings like my earlier photos. Sounds crazy right... not really.

You see the bedroom sensor is in a perfect location and doesn't have to deal with any variations in temperature other than actual room temp itself. Now that I'm aware of this I will leave the door open to help prevent heat buildup or relocate sensor.

Both front and rear units are putting out a consistent 20-23 in compressor mode. At one point I got an 18...
__________________
Slim, RVing 30 plus years
2015 Dynamax DX3 37 RB
AWF1945 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2016, 07:30 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
AWF1945's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 404
Opps forgot to insert picture
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1459985421124.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	53.7 KB
ID:	104105  
__________________
Slim, RVing 30 plus years
2015 Dynamax DX3 37 RB
AWF1945 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 12:36 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 416
Glad to hear that you were able to figure out that the sun was causing the temp problem. Thanks for letting us know what you found.

Tim
__________________

__________________
TimVWulp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 PM.