Old 05-10-2016, 11:51 AM   #1

Looking at the Isata 5 36DS

Hello All, I'm a newbie here to this forum and the wife and I are looking for some information. We are in the market for a Class C Diesel and have pretty much selected the new Isata 5 36DS.

We are currently in a 2003 Airstream Land Yacht and have been quite pleased with the quality and workmanship of the Airstream. We put a lot of miles on our RV, we bought it last February and put 20,000 miles on it since we bought it. Now that it has 70,000 miles on it, i'm not sure how many years of 20,000 a year we have left in it.

One more thing is that the wife does not like driving the Class A and she thinks she will be more comfortable driving a class C. Hence our search for a Class C.

I was interested in the Jayco Seneca but it just didn't seem to be of the same quality and workmanship of my Airstream and the older Dynaquest units. Since we are not retired yet, the DX3 is not an option at this time. While researching the DX3, I came upon the Isata 5 and am quite intrigued by it. Finding this forum has been a great find for me, I've read as much as I can and am also very excited to see Mr. Clemens posting here regularly. It says a lot when someone from the company posts here and answers any and all questions that customers have.

Enough of the introduction, now on to my questions.

1. I see that there are a few posters here that have the new 36DS. Are you satisfied with your purchase? Any issues that I should be aware of?

2. I was wondering what type of fuel economy you are getting? I don't tow anything yet but I may tow my Ford Explorer Sport later down the road.

3. How does it ride? One thing the wife is afraid of is the swaying when a big rig passes us. Driving about 20,000 miles a year - I need her to get behind the wheel on occasion.

4. Does anyone have the 100W solar panel option installed? Is it worth getting from the factory or putting it on aftermarket?