Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2018, 12:35 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 27
No Shore power

Yesterday our shore power went out. We were plugged in and everything was fine. After a while I realized we were running on the inverter. Now I don't seem to have shore power and the inverter quit working. I have reset any breakers that I thought my be part of the problem. I checked the pedestal and that was working.
Any help would be highly appreciated. The unit is a 2018 DX3.
__________________

papatyrrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 07:10 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: payson, az
Posts: 1,426
as i understand you do not have any 120 vac power, yet you have checked the pedestal and it has 120vac power. are you 30 amp or 50 amp? how did you confirm that the pedestal has power?

do you have an ems unit installed in your power supply circuit? is it showing any errors?

the circuit breaker that needs to be checked is the main input breaker in you panel. flip it off and then back on to reset it and see if that helps? no need to check the breaker on the pedestal as you say the pedestal has power. it would not if the pedestal breaker had tripped.

do you have a generator and automatic transfer switch?

assuming that none of the above solved the problem your going to have to do some detective work. do you have a multimeter and can you use it to take 120vac measurements? many people have reported various failures in various parts of the path bring power in. basically start at the pedestal, take a measurement and keep working towards your distribution panel until you find a segment that does not pass power.

places to check include
- the power cord itself
- the receptacle that you plug the female end of the power cord into. go to the back side of this receptacle and look at the connections. several people have reported loose connections there that ended up arcing and failing.
- the connection into the distribution panel. they may be loose and have failed.
- any connections into the ems or transfer switch
- look for any junction boxes where a cable is spliced or joined. people have reported that wire nuts have come loose and the connections have come undone.

if you have a generator do you have 120vac power everywhere when on generator power? if so you can eliminate any cabling past the transfer switch output connections.
__________________

__________________
2015 cardinal model 3825fl
2015 dodge ram 3500 dually
CHICKDOE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 08:34 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Posts: 2,909
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHICKDOE View Post
as i understand you do not have any 120 vac power, yet you have checked the pedestal and it has 120vac power. are you 30 amp or 50 amp? how did you confirm that the pedestal has power?

do you have an ems unit installed in your power supply circuit? is it showing any errors?

the circuit breaker that needs to be checked is the main input breaker in you panel. flip it off and then back on to reset it and see if that helps? no need to check the breaker on the pedestal as you say the pedestal has power. it would not if the pedestal breaker had tripped.

do you have a generator and automatic transfer switch?

assuming that none of the above solved the problem your going to have to do some detective work. do you have a multimeter and can you use it to take 120vac measurements? many people have reported various failures in various parts of the path bring power in. basically start at the pedestal, take a measurement and keep working towards your distribution panel until you find a segment that does not pass power.

places to check include
- the power cord itself
- the receptacle that you plug the female end of the power cord into. go to the back side of this receptacle and look at the connections. several people have reported loose connections there that ended up arcing and failing.
- the connection into the distribution panel. they may be loose and have failed.
- any connections into the ems or transfer switch
- look for any junction boxes where a cable is spliced or joined. people have reported that wire nuts have come loose and the connections have come undone.

if you have a generator do you have 120vac power everywhere when on generator power? if so you can eliminate any cabling past the transfer switch output connections.
Click image for larger version

Name:	What he said in that comment up there (1).jpg
Views:	43
Size:	17.1 KB
ID:	191167
__________________
2002 27rk Wildcat 5er.
Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Retired Master Electrician.

I know you believe that you understand what you think I said but I'm sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant
cavie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 09:27 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Running Springs, CA
Posts: 572
Now I like that! ^^^
__________________
2018 DX3 37TS Sunset
rskeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 10:44 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 27
Thanks all. Messed around a bit and think my problem is the SurgeGuard transfer switch. There is no magic button so back to the dealer we go.
papatyrrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 11:09 AM   #6
western NC mountains!
 
formerFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: western NC mountains!
Posts: 1,220
without having to go 'back' to the dealer, why not help us help you identify if it really is the ATS... what made you think that it's the problem? If you had 120v shore power, and suddenly lost it, it doesn't sound like the ATS would be the issue, especially being new.
Have you tried plugging into another outlet in the park?
Have you confirmed that all breakers are not tripped(even though they may look as though they are not)?
Have you tried running the generator to see if 120v power is passing thru your ATS to your Main Panel? (and make sure the generator's breakers are not also tripped)
__________________

The Turners
'14 Thor Palazzo 33.3 diesel
KingTailgater2 Dish, 200w/10amps mobile SOLAR
85,000+mi, US, Alaska, Canada, western NC for now : )
formerFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 11:45 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 27
Yes I have checked the voltage at the post and ran am extension cord from the post to my frige. All works well. If I pull the plug and reinsert it I can hear the clunk of the at the ats. Everything works fine on the generator. Talked to the service department at Dennis Dillion and he said they are having some problems with the surge guard ats locking up.
papatyrrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 12:02 PM   #8
western NC mountains!
 
formerFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: western NC mountains!
Posts: 1,220
yes, with the ‘clunk’ you hear, that means the ATS is working, BUT there could be a simple loose connection on the Shore side within it
__________________

formerFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 PM.