Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-16-2018, 08:01 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 97
RV fridge in Force HD

Does anyone else have the optional Norcold RV fridge in their DX3 or Force?
I think mine is not wired correctly.

When I remove the AC power the fridge continues to run on AC even though it is set to auto and the propane is turned on at the tank.
This causes the batteries to go to 11.8 volts in about 8 hours and it still doesn't auto switch to propane.

I believe it is on an inverted circuit and should not be.
__________________

djmedel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2018, 08:20 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
SeaDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Idaho
Posts: 4,937
You can test your theory by unplugging the 110V power at the frig and see if it switches to gas and your batteries stay up.
__________________

__________________
Retired Navy
Jake my sidekick (yellow Lab)
2017 RAM 2500 CC 4X4 Cummins Diesel
2016 Flagstaff 26 FKWS
AF&AM & El Korah Shrine of Idaho
SeaDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2018, 08:33 AM   #3
GM
 
bclemens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 9,154
All our Fridge circuits are inverted. You would want to put the fridge into LP Only mode.
__________________
PLEASE do not send questions via Private Message. Post questions in the forum as a new thread so that other users can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only. Our owners manuals are available online and via iPhone/Android Apps. http://www.dynamaxcorp.com/OnlineManual.aspx
bclemens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2018, 12:43 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 97
Brian,

I think that the RV type fridge should not be on an inverted outlet.If you lose AC power it draws 50 amps from the batteries and drains them quickly.The refer has the ability to automatically switch to propane when in auto mode, so one less thing to think about when moving from place to place or camping without hookups for a night or two.
djmedel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2018, 12:51 PM   #5
GM
 
bclemens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 9,154
opinion duly noted.

You could also just turn off the inverter. Maybe that is simpler? The problem with not inverting it, is if there was ever a reason you wanted it inverted, you have no options. Having it inverted means you could (maybe ran out of LP) use the inverted circuit. While this way does require some more user input, it gives you maximum flexibility.

For rigs like the DX3, we invert the entire coach. So to take out one outlet in the rare instance we do an RV fridge, is asking for errors.
__________________
PLEASE do not send questions via Private Message. Post questions in the forum as a new thread so that other users can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only. Our owners manuals are available online and via iPhone/Android Apps. http://www.dynamaxcorp.com/OnlineManual.aspx
bclemens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2018, 12:57 PM   #6
western NC mountains!
 
formerFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: western NC mountains!
Posts: 761
I'm not sure why someone would not WANT it to be on the inverter, as any residential RV fridge is. It also does NOT draw 50amps, wherever that came from(?), but only about 3-8amps depending on the size and type...and it only uses 'amps' when the compressor is running, not 24/7... typically only about 10 minutes at the time, several times per hour.

In your situation, you wouldn't want to use 'auto' if you have your inverter on, as the fridge is still 'seeing' 120v power, if so.
__________________

The Turners
'14 Thor Palazzo 33.3 diesel
KingTailgater2 Dish, 200w/10amps mobile SOLAR
82,900 miles, US, Alaska, and Canada.. : )
formerFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2018, 03:11 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 97
There is no compressor on my absorption fridge
djmedel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2018, 03:27 PM   #8
western NC mountains!
 
formerFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: western NC mountains!
Posts: 761
I guess my point is that your fridge will actually draw much less than what you think, when on 120v power from the inverter, especially since it doesn’t have a motor(compressor)... you could last even longer on the inverter than most of the rest of us : )
formerFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2018, 03:32 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 97
I checked the 12 volt side going to the inverter with a DC ampmeter and it reads 48 A with only the fridge running
djmedel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2018, 03:40 PM   #10
western NC mountains!
 
formerFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: western NC mountains!
Posts: 761
gotcha, but that’s 48amps at 12volts, not at 120volts for the inverter, Shore, or Gen power... but the conversion would be at only about 3-4 amps.
if you have just a single 12v 100ah house battery, you could easily run the fridge for 10hours, without being down to 50% battery capacity
__________________

formerFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fridge

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 AM.