Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-29-2019, 06:52 AM   #1

Winterizing XL with Washer & Refrigerator Ice-Maker

As the title says ... we have a XL 37RB here in Colorado and I am starting to think about what I need to do to winterize the beast. A bit puzzled on what to do about the washer and the refrigerator water line. Thoughts?

Also, being that I have never done this before, where can I find a good winterizing procedure for these units?

Thanks.
Old 08-29-2019, 07:11 AM   #2

We had the same question a few years ago when we got our DX3, because nothing was in the manuals on what to do. I hooked up a small 12v on-demand water pump to the water inlet hose & pumped an antifreeze solution thru the entire system & then kept it pressurized while we ran the washer thru a complete cycle & then let the frig make ice cubes until pink ones came out. It was an all afternoon event, so after that we decided it was easier to purchase a 10lb bag of ice as we need it & keep it in the freezer compartment. We recently removed the washer because we never used it & that gave us extra storage space, so that was one less thing to winterize. You could also add an antifreeze solution to your main water tank & pump it thru the system w/ the on-board pump. Whatever method you use, it's a pain.
Silver Arrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2019, 07:51 AM   #3
Commercial Member

On the ice, we just disconnect the lower section of water line and let that drain out. Then we keep the ice maker on until it does not make any more ice.

For the washer, I believe there use to be a "storage and moving" section on the old one. That was to drain the supply lines. There was also a drain plug I thought in the front...but we have changed over to the Splendide versions and I haven't had to do that one yet.

Subscribe for "How To" videos and updates https://www.youtube.com/c/DynamaxRVs/