Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-30-2015, 09:23 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
I need the satellite/TV wiring diagram for a 2015 Columbus 381FL. i am trying to set up a tailgater system, using the existing wiring. Running wires through the slides is not a good option.
__________________

__________________
dseiler64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 08:40 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 35
Folks, I wanted to add a bit of info to this thread in regards to satellite hook up in our rigs. After being rather disgusted with how the Coaxial cable was run in my new Sabre, this weekend I proceeded to trace out the cable and also test it. I was taken back by the lack of quality and the stupidity of how it was run. Also, the terminations on the cable was beyond stupid.
After owning a company where we installed VSAT systems, DirecTV, DishNetwork, HughesNet and etc for over 14 years, I Pulled out the tools and equipment to find the weak points of the wiring. I am not going into detail but will address what YOU need to do to make sure your wiring is at least has continuity.
Please, Please, take off wall plates and re-terminate with proper or professional, water proof ends. http://www.amazon.com/Thomas-Betts-B.../dp/B002OFA8AG these are what I use and have for years and you will need the tool to properly compress the fitting. Also redo the ends where cable/satellite enter the RV. After retermination, all were a lot better but not perfect but you could not Pull it apart. DO NOT USE SCREW ON TERMINATIONS. Remove all of the screw on terminations and put on the good ones! There are 900 mhz splitters in the walls, my device indicated this. Satellite connections from the Dish to the receiver will not work properly as it needs a 2 to 2.3 ghz splitter/power passing as to power the antenna.
The orange Sat cable was broken near the entry point in the wall. That means the center pin had been put in such a bind, it broke that brittle pin. I replaced the sat cable from outside connection to broken point. The Cable connection was broken at near the same place Replaced the cable and reterminated.
If you do not want to buy the tools or the connections, I highly recommend finding someone to just take off all the terminations and replace with good grade. The junk you find at Walmart or those cheap crimp ends where they are 100 for a dollar, please pass on those.
Once I did my due diligence, I tested my Tailgater, my TV's and and Antenna. I now have clear picture, and am very comfortable that it will last.
Now next project, how to get HD to the main living area PROPERLY and not using expensive HDMI wireless.
__________________

__________________
2015 Sabre Silhouette Select 312RKDS
2015 Ford F-350 King Ranch
Gearitis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 12:03 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: payson, az
Posts: 753
to gearitis: this is just a mental question. sounds like you ensured the integrity of your existing cables. you mentioned having the wrong splitter installed in the walls. did you also replace them with the proper splitters? you state that you owned a satellite company that could have offered these services to an owner who did not have the ability to do what you did. if you had to bill for what you did, how much would you have charged? in other words, how much more would an owner need to pay to have proper cabling? any idea how much more it would cost the factory to do this during the build?
__________________
CHICKDOE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 04:21 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHICKDOE View Post
to gearitis: this is just a mental question. sounds like you ensured the integrity of your existing cables. you mentioned having the wrong splitter installed in the walls. did you also replace them with the proper splitters? you state that you owned a satellite company that could have offered these services to an owner who did not have the ability to do what you did. if you had to bill for what you did, how much would you have charged? in other words, how much more would an owner need to pay to have proper cabling? any idea how much more it would cost the factory to do this during the build?
The splitter for the Main Living area and the basement TV connection shows to be in the wall about 3 feet up from the entry point in the wall. Getting to that splitter seems to be near impossible unless a wall is taken out which I will not do. My device also shows a splitter in the ceiling. It is 4 feet from the connection in the bedroom where the amplifier for the TV antenna gets power. I will try and pull back the coaxial cable but I have a distinct feeling there is a sharp turn in the wall and/or it has been stapled.
In my day, to test and do what I have done so far would be in $250 neighborhood and that is assuming access was as easy as what my 5er is now. I had plenty of room in the basement for me to take out the panels and literally crawl up in the basement, setup and work. Very fortunate as some in the older days, it was a belly flop all the way!
I will dive into this more this next weekend to see if I can pull back any of the coax with a string attached or maybe see if there is enough room to run a fiberglass fish rod and get a string thru there to pull a new cable so to bypass the splitters. I would rather have separate cables to each outlet than have it split up. If a run needs to be split, then do it in the open for flexibility such as a common junction point for all coaxial runs where we can attach a satellite receiver or a distribution box.
__________________
2015 Sabre Silhouette Select 312RKDS
2015 Ford F-350 King Ranch
Gearitis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 04:39 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHICKDOE View Post
to gearitis: this is just a mental question. sounds like you ensured the integrity of your existing cables. you mentioned having the wrong splitter installed in the walls. did you also replace them with the proper splitters? you state that you owned a satellite company that could have offered these services to an owner who did not have the ability to do what you did. if you had to bill for what you did, how much would you have charged? in other words, how much more would an owner need to pay to have proper cabling? any idea how much more it would cost the factory to do this during the build?
If you would rather have someone come out and just do the terminations in your coaxial wall plates and outside connections, I would say the most would be a C note if not less. I will say, if you have that done, a lot of headaches will subside. Also have a "good" cable built from you external connection to your cable or satellite box or antenna. Especially Tailgater which must take power from the Receiver. DTV, not so much as they have an external power supply on most.

If the factory would just run the coax to a common junction point, the cost is negligible. They lose the cost of the splitter or splitters, the number of terminations would drop and failure rate and frustration would be nearly 0. It is a matter of about 30 ft more of coax to do it right IMO. Coax is cheap, but I guess if you are building 1000 rigs, thats 30000 ft at a nickel a foot then that is a cost they do not want.
I also noticed that they used RG 6 on my rig which is GREAT, where my neighbors Columbus they used RG59 which is OK but not good for shielding and longer runs and Satellite connections.
__________________
2015 Sabre Silhouette Select 312RKDS
2015 Ford F-350 King Ranch
Gearitis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 05:39 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
oldgold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by glraz View Post
Did some more research but need to confirm with dealer and FR. It seems that the outside connections for Sat & Cable run to the bedroom ceiling plate that contains the roof mounted antenna power for amplifier. The unit didn't have a TV in the bedroom and seems really dumb to have the satellite connection run there instead of to the big 40" TV that is in the living area.

If my assumption and investigation is correct I am going to see if the dealer can just put a connection thru the wall of the slide where the 40" TV is and will connect my dish there. I am then going to look at a wireless HDMI that I found on Amazon for $180 to share the signal to the TV in the bedroom. That way all the stock TV wiring from FR will still work as it should.

Said that you pay $50k for a brand new unit and have to spend a few hundred more to make the TV work when it states satellite ready.

Will update when I get everything worked thru.



We use these... Great to transmit to all 4 of our tv's. Which one did you buy?

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1442266738.145865.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	238.7 KB
ID:	88670
__________________
2015 XLR Nitro 30FQSL
2015 F250 King Ranch
oldgold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 11:08 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldgold View Post
We use these... Great to transmit to all 4 of our tv's. Which one did you buy?

Attachment 88670
I used the IOGEAR GW3DHDKIT units from Amazon which to me it was worth the $200 bucks not having to mess with new ends or splitters buried in the wall. Plus now if I want to I am able to have a TV any where even outside without having to run anything but a electrical supply. The picture quality is great.

I went with this as I have my sat rec and a dvd plugged into base unit (it has 2 inputs and 1 output besides the wireless. Allows the transmit of dvd to the bedroom as well.
__________________
==================
2015 Ford F350 FX4 SRW
2016 Sabre 33CKTS
16k Reese Titan Slider
40 gal ATI Transfer tank
Load Lifter 5000 Airbags
glraz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2015, 08:24 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 35
The wireless concepts are great and technology has improved so much that these solutions are valid and cost effective. My biggest irritation was the satellite run from the exterior to the interior. It was marked incorrectly, then continuity was in question, and it must pass power for the new technology auto positioning satellite antennas. Even with the wireless solutions mentioned, there still must be a good and solid coaxial run if you plan on running your sat receivers inside of you rv unless you run your own dedicated coax. Most if not all will try and use the external connection and assume it is done correctly. Problem is that there is voltage and very small amperage going to your sat antenna, so if one of those little strands of what most calls shielding stays in contact with the center wire, it could cause the receiver to reset or shut off automatically or could result in harm to the receiver. That was the case in my situation with most of the terminations.
The Interior coaxial cabling, I like the wireless solutions, be it 200 bucks or so. That works well in the bedroom where the engineering of cabling is in the ceiling and you do not want to run cables down your wall or in front of the window to a TV on the Dresser.
__________________
2015 Sabre Silhouette Select 312RKDS
2015 Ford F-350 King Ranch
Gearitis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 07:33 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 37
I understand your frustration with the cabling which is why in our 33ckts I had a cable dropped out the bottoms of the slide in the same penetration that all the existing wiring runs through where the tv is. I now have a dedicated cable for the satellite at the main tv in the living room. I was very disappointed after we started we did our PDI that the only sat cable location came out of the ceiling in the bedroom. This completely makes no sense as there isn't' even a TV in that location. How can a manufacture claim satellite ready, supply one TV in the main floor without even having a dedicated line run there in addiction know that they can't put a bunch of splitters in the line.
__________________
==================
2015 Ford F350 FX4 SRW
2016 Sabre 33CKTS
16k Reese Titan Slider
40 gal ATI Transfer tank
Load Lifter 5000 Airbags
glraz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 07:42 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
nomad297's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1,241
All of the cabling in my Windjammer is flawless. I have satellite, cable and over air in three locations.

Bruce
__________________

__________________
2016 Rockwood Windjammer 3029W Diamond
2015 Chevy 3500HD LTZ 6.0 Crew Cab 4x4 Long Bed 4.10:1 SRW
nomad297 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sabre 33ckts, satellite

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 PM.