Old 06-14-2016, 06:42 PM   #1

2016 Forester MBS 2401R

Hi all - first want to say thank you for such an awesome resource! We have been "lurking" for some time doing our research and trying to educate ourselves. We are complete newbies and have never owned an RV before. After much of the aforementioned research, visits to dealers, etc. We are now in the process of purchasing a 2016 Forest MBS 2401R. We have downloaded PDI checklists and read everything we can on this forum about the Forester and her sisters, Sunseeker and Solera.....but "we still don't know what we still don't know" !

We plan the spend the first night in a full hook up campground near the dealer as many of you have advised. What will we need to have? Adapters, surge protectors and the like?

If you currently own this model - is there anything special we should be aware of or looking out for?

Any modifications/options you would suggest doing sooner rather then later?

Has anyone attended the Escapees Boot Camp? One is coming up in July in Vermont, which might be a nice first road trip from Virginia. What was your experience? Do you feel it is worthwhile?

We are super excited to begin this new adventure. Thank you for keeping this forum so active and informative.

Mike and Jani
Hopfully new owners
2016 Forester MBS 2401R

Old 06-15-2016, 09:31 AM   #2

Welcome from Wisconsin and congrats on your 2016 Forester MBS 2401R. Things you will need are water pressure regulator, 50' water hose, good quality sewer hose, disposable gloves for when you dump tanks, wheel chocks, couple pieces of PT 2X8's to level camper and 4 more smaller ones to put under stabilizer jacks, level, extension cord, spare fuses. I would suggest roof vent covers so you can leave the roof vents open in the rain for ventilation and a surge protector/EMS unit from Progressive Industries.

Old 06-15-2016, 10:11 AM   #3

And don't drive through rain