Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-17-2017, 08:49 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Sandiegodoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 746
Solar system on isata 3

Just wondering if itís possible to add a couple more panels to solar system without changing out controller. We do a lot of beach dry camping.
__________________

Sandiegodoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 08:51 AM   #2
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 7,753
What is the current capacity of the controller?
__________________

__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 08:55 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Sandiegodoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 746
Think 30a, donít have unit yet
On my current solera, I measured each panel and it measured 20 volts and 4.5 amps. Iím not an ee
but maybe system could handle 2-3 more panels?
Sandiegodoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 10:14 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 549
Your problem may be where to mount them.

If placed on an extension cord to get into the sun , use at least #10 wire for the cable to max the volts/amps into your charging system.

A method of keeping them from talking a walk might be wise.
FFred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 11:55 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Rich.M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Sarasota
Posts: 478
We have 4 100 watt panels on 30 amp controller. Amps top out at 24 amp in full sun. I wouldn't go higher without changing the controller.
__________________
2015 Solera 24r
2017 Jeep Wrangler
Rich.M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 11:57 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Sandiegodoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 746
Thatís what I wanted to know
Thanks
Sandiegodoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 01:24 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
MilCop4523's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: In a big child free home - except for me
Posts: 1,459
I JUST PURCHASED A 500w 30 AMP SOLAR CHARGE CONTROLLER AT HARBOUR FREIGHT. HAVE TO FIGURE OUT WHERE TO SPLICE THE DRN THING INTO THE LINE FOR IT TO WORK THOUGH. OP DO YOU HAVE A PIC OF WHERE YOU MOUNTED YOUR CONTROLLER?


SORRY FOR CAPS LOCK - MY KEYBOARD DIED
__________________
TV 2018 Ford F250, hauling a 2018 KZ 331 TH 12 Sportster 5th wheel, packing a 2015 CF MOTO 800 U-Force SXS
MilCop4523 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 02:50 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Rich.M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Sarasota
Posts: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by MilCop4523 View Post
I JUST PURCHASED A 500w 30 AMP SOLAR CHARGE CONTROLLER AT HARBOUR FREIGHT. HAVE TO FIGURE OUT WHERE TO SPLICE THE DRN THING INTO THE LINE FOR IT TO WORK THOUGH. OP DO YOU HAVE A PIC OF WHERE YOU MOUNTED YOUR CONTROLLER?


SORRY FOR CAPS LOCK - MY KEYBOARD DIED
The safest plan would be to run 6 gauge from the controller directly to the batteries on a separate line if you are planning to set up 400-500 watts solar. The gauge for theline from the roof will depend on if you run series or parallel on the panels. Wire routing and mounting will vary by model. You may want to post that question in the forum for your rig.
__________________
2015 Solera 24r
2017 Jeep Wrangler
Rich.M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 02:51 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
WolfWhistle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,274
OP doesn't say many 100w (I assume) panels there now. 30A Trimettic can handle up to / about 500w of array and can limit amps if on rare occasion current exceeds 30a. Not all controllers are equal. If panels have same voltages you can add when wired in parallel.

Controller can go anywhere between panels and batteries. But I would size wire for no more than 3% voltage drop. Get volts and amps from panel tag.
WW
__________________
Hyper Lite was sold

2017 F-250 4x4 6.2L Gas
I can't fix everything, but I can make it so nobody else can
WolfWhistle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 02:53 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Sandiegodoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 746
Thatís what I did on solera
Line from roof to controller
Controller to batteries
I hid mine in the lower drawer under the sink(wife said no cutting)
New one installed by dynamax by stairs
__________________

Sandiegodoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
solar

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57 PM.