Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-13-2017, 10:38 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Dublin, Ohio
Posts: 66
Thermostat flashing E1?

Well I had the A/C running today/tonight while we were finishing loading it for our trip. I went back out there tonight and the A/C was still running and it felt pretty chilly but the thermostat was flashing E1....
We're leaving tomorrow on our trip. Any Ideas or suggestions?

Day one drove it home - $1200 repair - loose fan (6 days - warranty started)
First night camping - Stabilizer Jacks wouldn't retract. Still broke.
First time running A/C for extended period - A/C Thermostat flashing E1

Almost two weeks old..... what a record!
__________________

Automatic_11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2017, 07:49 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 700
Quote:
Originally Posted by Automatic_11 View Post
Well I had the A/C running today/tonight while we were finishing loading it for our trip. I went back out there tonight and the A/C was still running and it felt pretty chilly but the thermostat was flashing E1....
We're leaving tomorrow on our trip. Any Ideas or suggestions?

Almost two weeks old..... what a record!
For the Dometic thermostat, according to a manual available here:
https://www.manualslib.com/manual/72...c-3313192.html
Quote:
E1 Loss of communication between the Single Zone LCD thermostat and the module board. LCD will cycle between E1 and the previous mode setting. System will shut down.
Not sure exactly what that means, but maybe a loose wire?

It does seem like you're having more than your share of problems!

Good luck.

Dave
__________________

__________________
2015 Solera 24R
2014 Mercedes Chassis
DaveJordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2017, 10:12 AM   #3
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 6,960
There's been a rash of "E1" reports lately on here. It's possibly a bad connection on one end of the 3-wire cable.

One thing you can try in order to get it back working is to initialize the thermostat.

On page 3 of the manual linked above is the procedure for doing that. I posted it below for convenience.

Quote:
System Initialization
A system initialization will need to be performed by the installer after the system is installed. • Make sure the Single Zone LCD thermostat is in the Off condi- tion. See page 4, "Quick Reference To Control Buttons". • Press the "+" button and, while holding it, also press and hold the On/Off Mode button for three seconds. LCD will show ― ― . Press the On/Off Mode button again to turn system off. This completes the initialization.
If that doesn't work, you should contact your dealer to get it resolved.
There is a list of things to try to get it working, but on a unit that new, I'd just have the dealer fix it.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
thermostat

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 PM.


×