Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-04-2018, 07:36 PM   #1

Will diesel exhaust fluid goes bad?

friend told me to make sure that DEF fluid is fresh, but what happen if like me I don't use my motorhome that much. Would DEF in tank gone bad? I'm sorry if I'm repeating this question.

Thanks
raptor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2018, 07:46 PM   #2
Berkshire 390QS

DEF fluid if stored at normal temperature will last around a year or more. Google the brand you have and check specifications. Skip
NO3putt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2018, 07:54 PM   #3

My question is in MH tank? it's not what i put in. the one in our tank for years. my rig is 2016 forester. this is my first time to add def because it only have 6400 miles. as you can see i don't it that much for now.
Old 06-04-2018, 08:18 PM   #4
Gold Tee Box

I would encourage you to search the forum for DEF and Julian Date, both will give you all you can read on the subject.

There seem to be so many variables about DEF Julian date, manufacture date, shelf life, and storage issues I'm not sure anyone can answer your question with accuracy.

I also have a vehicle which may go months before I take another road trip, and dread the day that I get some kind of a Bad DEF alert.

The next time I go in for service, I'm going to check into having a drain tap installed so I can just dump it and fill with new DEF fluid if needed.

Teetime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 12:47 PM   #5

Probably starts smoking like running out of DEF. But this is a great question for those that drive their home on wheels. I never thought about it because I have a truck and it doesn't go much over a year on a tank of DEF
rlh1957 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 01:12 PM   #6