Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2019, 08:16 AM   #1
Member
 
Mnviking59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Mellen, WI
Posts: 42
Furnace Problems

I live full time in our 2016 Vengeance Toy Hauler fifth wheel. We are ready to head south for the winter from cold northern Wisconsin. Last night the furnace stopped working and we slept in the truck. This morning I checked all the circuit breakers and fuses and all looked fine. Shut power off and on and still nothing.
I really need your help before things start freezing up.
Is there a breaker somewhere else?
__________________

Mnviking59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 08:18 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 525
Do you hear a click by the furnace?. Is the thermostat working?
__________________

cmysstailights is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 08:25 AM   #3
Member
 
Mnviking59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Mellen, WI
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmysstailights View Post
Do you hear a click by the furnace?. Is the thermostat working?
No clicking noice. The thermostat seems fine.
Mnviking59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 09:05 AM   #4
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10,401
Any chance you ran out of propane? If so after several tries to light furnace goes into safe mode and will not try to start until reset.
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 09:13 AM   #5
Member
 
Mnviking59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Mellen, WI
Posts: 42
No, Iím hooked up road 500 gallon tank. If I was out I should hear blower start and then shut down when the glow doesnít get warm.
Mnviking59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 09:15 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
MillMitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: MN
Posts: 886
That happened in our Grey Wolf on our last trip in Oct. Woke up and it was 47d in the TT. Didn't reset anything though, just switched over to the other tank, reset the thermostat and turned the heat back on and it fired right up.
I reset my thermostat probably once a day, it's always acting up.
Good luck.
__________________
Mitch in MN
2018 Patriot (Grey Wolf) 23MK travel trailer
2011 Durango 5.7L and OEM tow package
MillMitch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 09:30 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
njfishing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 413
Have you recycled the thermostat by turning it off and then back to heat? This usually attempts to re light the furnace. Try that and have someone go outside by the furnace vents and listen to see if anything happens... If you don't hear any clicks to attempt to light the furnace, your thermostat could be bad and not calling for heat. One way to check and see if the thermostat is working would be to set it so the AC comes on. It it doesn't then your issue may be the thermostat since it's not calling for heat or air conditioning... If the AC does work then you likely have some sort of issue with your furnace.

Might also be helpful to know what make and model Furnace and Thermostat you have for more pointed suggestions.
__________________
Gerry Z
2014 Roo 21DK
Honda Ridgeline
Equalizer WDH
njfishing is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 10:28 AM   #8
Member
 
Mnviking59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Mellen, WI
Posts: 42
It’s a Dometic thermostat and a suburban furnace, not sure of the model.
Mnviking59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 12:36 PM   #9
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 7,050
You said you powered down and back up, but did you pull the fuse to the furnace or disconnect all 12 volt power? Once the furnace goes into lockout you have to cycle 12 volt power to get it to even try to light again.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 01:37 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: North of Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,900
Have you removed the thermostat from the wall (or just cover) and looked to see if there is a fuse on it's circuit board?

If it's an original equipment thermostat there is usually a 2 amp fuse on the circuit board. If the thermostat can't send electricity to the furnace nothing will happen. The fact you don't hear clicks of the fan running, and fuse in main panel is OK this is where I'd look.

Here's a typical circuit board used in RV's. Note the fuse just above the lower left switch assy.



Location will vary but usually the same type tubular fuse and 2 amp size. If they have a fuse element that looks like a fiber tube wrapped in wire, or like that, they are a "slo-blow" type and should be replaced with the same kind. Regular plain metal fuse elements might blow due to current surges when the fan starts.
__________________
Sami. my Shih-Tsu "Co-Pilot" R.I.P
Politically Incorrect since 1943
"Sometimes you're the dog, sometimes you're the tree"

2018 Flagstaff Micro Lite 25BDS
2004 Nissan Titan
TitanMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 04:02 PM   #11
Member
 
Mnviking59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Mellen, WI
Posts: 42
I disconnected the battery and shut down the power on the outside main pole, Still nothing. I donít see a fuse on the thermostat.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3338F162-5315-4276-8E33-36039606CA14.jpeg
Views:	27
Size:	111.7 KB
ID:	219135  
Mnviking59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 05:12 PM   #12
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 7,050
That looks like a Dometic Single zone thermostat.

You can try to initialize it and see if that helps.

Quote:
"A system initialization will need to be performed by the installer after
the system is installed.
Make sure the Single Zone LCD thermostat is in the Off condition.
Press the ď+Ē button and, while holding it, also press and hold the On/Off Mode button for three seconds. LCD will show ― ― .
Press the On/Off Mode button again to turn system off.
This completes the initialization."
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 05:48 PM   #13
Member
 
Mnviking59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Mellen, WI
Posts: 42
I went through the initialization and did everything just as was stated. That worked for the thermostat but still no furnace.
Mnviking59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 05:53 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,876
see post #11?

Troubleshooting My Suburban NT-30SP Furnace
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2008 F250 Lariat CC SB 6.8L V10 4.10 axle ratio (NITTO TERRA GRAPLER G2 LT275/65R20E)
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped:2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32) 2018 (42)
fonzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 11:31 AM   #15
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 7,050
It's time to do a little more involved troubleshooting.
Follow Fonzie's advice and see if it helps.

I'd check to see if you have power at the furnace.
If you do then I'd check the sail switch to make sure it's operating properly. It should be open before the blower comes on (or it'll never come on) and it should close once the blower starts.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 12:19 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: North of Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,900
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bama Rambler View Post
It's time to do a little more involved troubleshooting.
Follow Fonzie's advice and see if it helps.

I'd check to see if you have power at the furnace.
If you do then I'd check the sail switch to make sure it's operating properly. It should be open before the blower comes on (or it'll never come on) and it should close once the blower starts.
Good chance that there is at least power to the furnace as that's where most thermostats (except battery operated) get their power. The OP's t-stat has power.

The fact the T-Stat has no relay or fuse could mean that the power switching is done at the furnace.

Time to get the wiring diagram for the specific furnace and start chasing power through the system Start at power entrance terminals and then on each side of each safety device. When it exists on one side but not the other that's the problem (except sail switch which has to be manually moved to switch it on).
__________________
Sami. my Shih-Tsu "Co-Pilot" R.I.P
Politically Incorrect since 1943
"Sometimes you're the dog, sometimes you're the tree"

2018 Flagstaff Micro Lite 25BDS
2004 Nissan Titan
TitanMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 02:50 PM   #17
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 7,050
Those thermostats are powered by a separate circuit ran to the A/C in most cases. That way the A/C works if the furnace is not powered.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 02:59 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
njfishing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 413
If you set the thermostat to call for air conditioning does the air conditioning come on? If it does, I think that likely rules out a faulty thermostat.
__________________
Gerry Z
2014 Roo 21DK
Honda Ridgeline
Equalizer WDH
njfishing is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 03:00 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Brother Les's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: BoCoMo
Posts: 2,403
Have your camper RV battery load tested. One winter my furnace would not come on even though we were in a full hookup. All 12v systems will work in a RV with just the convertor, Except the furnace. There is a large load demand at start up and the convertor can not meet this demand. My battery had a dead/shorted cell. Replaced battery and all was fine.
__________________
Brother Les

2013 Forest River Salem Hemisphere SBT312QBUD

2001 CrewCab F-250 7.3 PowerStroke Diesel
SuperChip, BTS transmission, 6.0 Trans Cooler
Brother Les is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 03:59 PM   #20
Member
 
Mnviking59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Mellen, WI
Posts: 42
First of all I want to thank everyone for there input.
The air does go on. I’m heating right now by other means which will get us by until we pack up and go. I’m thinking of pulling the furnace and bringing it down with me. Doesn’t look easy to get to but I’ll try. No one up here will work on an RV unless you bring it to a dealer. All mobile service people are shut down for the winter.
__________________

Mnviking59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furnace

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:57 AM.


×